NoMU procrastinating; get on with it!

It was nice of Mister Obama to wait until after the Royal Wedding and not steal Wills’ and Katie’s thunder, hey? I’m told the young royals had a blast and that ‘the dancing was “fun and outrageous” … “There was a chicken dance with lots of arm-flapping, which was particularly good fun.’ Arm flapping? Mmm … I wonder if Tilly Bud was there? 

Anyhow, after lots of festivities and a string of public and religious holidays, we’re back to routine and reality. I spent most of yesterday in my kitchen, avoiding my computer, which was only yielding a constant stream of rather ghoulish revelry about the death of Bin Laden. I chose to revel in chocolate instead. Prompted by a recipe pointed out to me by Souldipper, I went out and bought biscuits and made chocolate squares for the Bunn’s lunchbox fillers.

 

I then baked a rich chocolate cake for my MIL, who is having some church ladies over for tea today. I used an old recipe for coffee cake and substituted the coffee with NoMU drinking chocolate, what a winner. (Recipe available on request.)

For our supper (just the Bunn and I – Old Spouse is away on business) I made a fabulous Gaprao neu-uh (Thai beef stir fry) using my newly procured tin of NoMU Oriental rub and got the ultimate accolade from my child; Please can I have some more, Mom?

And so it’s on with the week, I have a terrifying amount of work to do and there’s no point avoiding it. I’ll just have a quick gander at the blogs first …

49 thoughts on “NoMU procrastinating; get on with it!

  1. Fist time I have seen a post title from you not in ALL CAPS. Just thought I would share that for what it’s worth. 😉
    Sounds like you had a super break. I think Mauritius is the only country that does not celebrate Easter. 😦
    I really don’t need another cake recipe in my arsenal but how can I not try yours, so yes please I would love the recipe.
    Enjoy catching up.
    🙂 Mandy

    • It was deliberate, Mandy, because of NoMU’s spelling; didn’t think anyone would notice 🙂
      (Will type up the recipe later and mail it to you.)

  2. Isn’t it wonderful to prepare a meal from the heart that is loved by all? 😀

    Like you, I need to stop procrastinating and GO TO BED. {{ywan}}

  3. Well thanks to the Wedding Biscuit recipe we’re now blogging buddies.

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts and I love your photo, but I’m so sad you live so far away and I can’t come over for a cup of tea and to steal a slice of that delicious looking chocolate cake you baked for MIL 🙂

  4. Wow, you certainly were in the kitchen! I see you were also hunting down the Rich tea biscuits. Lucky MIL. Lucky Bunn. BTW – I loved the Topless Tart!

  5. Looks like a pretty busy day in the kitchen. Bet that chocolate cake was better than Nig***a’s guiness one! 🙂

  6. Food looks and sounds yummy!

    Cindy, I complete agree on the “goulish” reaction to bin Laden’s death. I haven’t been able to watch it all either.

    Thank you for our kind remarkes on White Watchung Home and other posts. Treasured. I don’t know why you couldn’t comment on Duetto buffo di due gatti, but I do hope you enjoyed it.

    Thought of you as I got to see “The Naked Civil Servant” about Quentin Crisp, which I’d not seen before. Wonder if you have. If not, I do think you would enjoy it, assuming you can get hold of a copy.

    Jamie

    • My feelings are best summed up as follows:
      “I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

      And yes, I have seen The Naked Civil Servant 🙂

  7. Glad you had some restful time in the kitchen before diving into your workload. That cake looks, as always, delicious. Maybe I should become one of you MIL’s church ladies?

  8. wow! your blog is really popular. I’m not much into cooking blogs but I checked this out cause you checked mine out — but there’s one thing I really liked about this blog: Beetroot, I’m a BIG FAN of beetroot. In the fish cafe where we hang out I’m zsometimes referred to as the ‘beetroot boy’ because I insist upon it in my salad

  9. One can just him now furioulsy scratching about on the calendar with his pencil. Here’s a good day. No wait, a royal wedding. Here this will do. No no thats Easter. How about here. No so and so’s birthday! Geez a guy can’t catch a break.

  10. I think that thought popped into all our minds. Quite coincadental really.
    On a different nore- how do you stay so skinny? When all you seem to do is eat!!! Haha.
    xx

  11. Do you really post your posts (that sounds weird) at 4 in the am? when do u sleep haha

    Please can you send me the recipe for this cake? I’d like to give NoMu a try 😉

Leave a Reply

