POSH PYJAMAS FOR A BANANA

Skinny Malinky long legs, stink banana feet
Went to the drive-in and couldn’t find a seat
He sat on a lady and out popped a baby
Skinny Malinky long legs, stink banana feet

 

Yes, bananas have been much on my mind. They’re best left unfiddled with and eaten straight; naked and natural. Also, with the exception of the banana-caramel-cream pie, they don’t feature as recipe book stars. But the ditty at the top of my post has been stuck in my head for days, and yesterday morning I had a crystal clear recollection of singing it in the back of my father’s car as we drove to the roadhouse for a banana split or a peach melba parfait.

I’ve recently been experimenting with making sorbets and decided to introduce my daughter to the banana split, with a modern twist. Not the ersatz taste of the Neapolitan tri-colour ice cream that was traditionally used.

Honey, vanilla cream, raspberry sorbet, pistachios, pomegranate … I think that’s a nice, balanced plate of food to come home to after a hard day at school, don’t you?

Banana trivia from foodreference.com:

There are 44 people in the U.S. listed on whitepages.com with the last name ‘Banana’
(Mark Morton, ‘Gastronomica’, Fall 2010).

 

Until the early 1800s in Hawaii, most banana varieties were ‘kapu’ – forbidden for women of Hawaii to eat, under penalty of death.

Supposedly, one of the first shipments of bananas to reach the colonies was in 1690 at Salem, Mass. They tried boiling them with pork. It took nearly 200 years after that culinary disaster for bananas to catch on with North Americans.

RELATED POSTS:

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/there-and-back-to-see-how-far-it-is/

AND

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/bad-food-nostalgia/

75 thoughts on “POSH PYJAMAS FOR A BANANA

  1. I loved everything about this post ~ including the factoid that people are walking around with the last name “Banana.” Better than “Kumquat” or “Avocado,” I guess. 😀

    That banana split looks awesome and I’m intrigued about why women in Hawaii couldn’t eat this delicious fruit on penalty of death. I expect Freud would be intrigued by that too . . . given its shape. 😀

  2. Oh I forgot to say how inviting that banana slpit looks. I am going to have to remember it because I have a huge sweet tooth. Some of it is just natural and some of it is from meds. So any healthier way to eat bad stuff is good news for me!

  3. I hope that banana split was gobbled up? Looks delish. Funnily enough, in the night I had a yearning for banana custard. I even wrote ‘milk, bananas, eggs’ in my notebook…

    How could you possibly live with the last name ‘Banana’??

    The kids and I laughed at signs in Queensland saying ‘Do not move banana plants’

  4. Yes! And now we Americans do the most impossibly sinful things with bananas and sometimes the most boring. If one more person gives me a loaf of banana nut bread … ^*(*&&^% …. Of course, I have a ligit excuse for not eating it, no wheat. I expect sooner or later someone will come up with a wheatless version.

    I think the Thai make the best banana dessert: deep fried and served with creamy homemade coconut ice cream. Yum!

    Love dessert and photo. Ambitious! 🙂

  5. First time I venture in here and you post Skinny malinky longlegs – my Scottish husband’s sisters used to call him that. But the feet were “big banana feet” as he was tall, skinny, with feet to grow into!
    In Seychelles they claim 40 varieties of bananas – the best of which is tiny, with a red skin. There’s also a big one called St Jacques which makes good chips. I can’t bear the smell of cooked bananas, but love a banana sandwich!

    • Thank you for your visit, Viv, I have seen your footprint all over blogland 🙂
      Our version in South Africa is ‘vrot banana feet’, ‘vrot’ meaning rotten. I went through a stage in high school of being able to eat a bacon and banana toasted sandwich daily, thank heavens the phase passed 😉

  6. I’m not mad keen on raw banana because it’s so hard to get them just right – too hard, too ripe, etc. But throw in a bowl of custard and I’m there.

  7. Thank you for all the interesting facts about bananas. We have them on our menu always. Half a banana in the morning with egg and toast or cereal. You are right. The banana we need not fiddle with. Yet, try it in the blender with a milk and ice, nutmeg or vanilla optional. No sugar needed! Blessings to you, Cindy…

  8. The version I know goes like this:

    Silly Malinky Longlegs,
    big Banana feet
    went to the pictures but couldn’t find a seat
    when he found a seat he fell fast asleep
    Silly Malinky Long Legs
    Big Banana Feet.

    when I searched for it another version came up

    Skinny Malinky Longlegs
    Big Banana feet
    went tae the pictures
    and couldnae find a seat
    when the picture started
    Skinny Malinky farted
    Skinny Malinky longlegs
    Big Banana feet

    and another!

    Skinny Malinky Lang Legs wi umbrella feet
    Went to the pictures and cudnae find a seat
    When the picture started
    Skinny Malinky farted
    Skinny Malinky Lang Legs wi umbrella feet

  9. Boiling bananas with pork??? Not surprising then that the fruit didn’t catch on… And women forbidden to eat bananas on penalty of death?! One wonders who makes these rules.

    You are a veritable fount of knowledge, Cin.

  10. Good grief! What fascinating and alarming info (particularly as relates to boiling bananas – YUCK!) One of my very favorite banana treats is to freeze them and eat them on a stick! They can be dipped in chocolate (dark is my fave) as well, for a decadent treat. I also saw a recipe recently that was for banana “ice cream” that you and/or Bunn might enjoy: Peel, slice, then freeze one small banana. Put frozen slices in a blended with 3 Tablespoons of low-fat milk. Blend until thick, then top with a tablespoon of chopped toasted walnuts, pecans, or almonds. It really is delicious, and refreshing

  11. “they don’t feature as recipe book stars”?! – bananas baked with orange, honey, vanilla bean and grand marnier, served with vanilla ice-cream; bananas and bluberries with cream in meringue nests; bacon and banana on toast (did that one alert the food snob in you? 😉 banana tiramasu, etc – yum, yum

  12. Banana’s are a staple..I freeze them (without peel) all summer long, it started when a child (never was a huge ice cream fan). I can’t remember if they turn brown or not…but, it’s almost summer, let ya know.. fabulously fun post!

  13. Pingback: Banana Custard | mangetout and other stories

  14. I have one fond memory with a banana split in it – fond indeed, but I have not come across a banana split that wonderful since. Don’t know anymore whether it is real or whether it has become a mere fantasy instead…

      • We moved to Port Shepstone when I was 9 (I think). I don’t have solid memories of the ocean before then. Shortly after our arrival we had banana split in a Wimpy on the beachfront in Margate. The banana split is all I remember about the occasion: it was in a bowl that literally looked like a boat – a canoe. It had the banana halves on either long end of the ‘canoe’ with (what looked and tasted like)canned mixed fruit and the syrup filling up the bottom with three blobs of ice cream. Back then you still had proper ice cream – not the cream you get today. Oh, and don’t forget the big sugar wafers stuck into the divine ice cream as a finishing touch! mmm! It was quite a big dish for a little girl, but I finished it all 😀

Leave a Reply

