MARVIN LEE ADAY, A RECIPE

Into Each Life a Little Meatloaf Must Fall – Bob Savage

No matter how you scrub him up, dress him nice … Marvin Lee Aday remains entrenched in people’s minds as Meat Loaf, whose inexplicable popularity has led to his legendary status. It’s said he doesn’t eat meatloaf and was a vegetarian for fifteen years, before reverting to an omnivore diet and now rates pork chops as his favourite food.

I don’t care much for the man, his songs or his culinary namesake. For me there is no poetry in meatloaf and I don’t care much for cooking without poetry. Still, having said that, I am committed to a project in which I am formulating weekday dinners for families and must come to terms with the fact that many people are not fortunate to have the time to indulge in poetry on a daily basis.

Hence my presented task; to make an easy meatloaf recipe to serve a family of four.

1 packet lean beef mince

1 tablespoon sambal oelek (less if you have a spice-sensitive palate)

1 teaspoon each garlic and ginger

2 tablespoons chopped chives

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

2 eggs

¾ cup of dried breadcrumbs

Salt and pepper to taste.

Combine all ingredients, place in a greased, medium-sized bread pan and bake at 180C for 45-55 minutes, until browned and set.

Serve with mashed potatoes and a creamy green peppercorn sauce, or a tomato-based sauce, or brown onion gravy.

It’s not musical, but it serves its purpose.

As Mister Aday would probably say, it is what it is.

72 thoughts on “MARVIN LEE ADAY, A RECIPE

  1. One of my favorite restaurants here is said to have a marvelous meatloaf..I have yet to make myself try it…some how ‘dining out’ and ‘meatloaf’ strike me as an oxymoron. 🙂

  2. O…Oh! I have to admit I grew up with Meatloaf, and Bat out of Hell roaring on my stereo, driving around in my younger years. Must have been my rebel era…LOL!I also have to admit I’ve only ever cooked meatloaf once in my life…and once was enough! I always think meatloaf is a way of disguising ‘hidden’ ingredients..it is what it is!?

  3. My mom always said that meatloaf was a lazy cook’s meal… Something simple and easy for someone who couldn’t be bothered to go through the trouble of making proper meatballs or shepherd’s pie or a mince-ish pasta. But I disagree! And your recipe sounds really cool, Cindy! What do you think about adding some grated red peppers to the mix – for colour and delicate flavour? Either way, I am going to try this out soon! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Red peppers would be a great addition. I tend to agree with your mom, but must remind myself that it is exhausting to get home from a long day at work and have to put something on the table, whilst at the same time having to attend to children’s bathtimes and school homework.

    • I agree, there are quite a lot of the interesting veggies you can put in that make it quite interesting.

      I prefer raw oats to the bread in it.

      I have had one with hard boiled eggs cooked inside, also added a lot of interest.

      Maybe you need a competition as to who can make the most interesting meatloaf?

      • On Christmas day, one of our friends brought over a meatloaf with a chourizo sausage in the middle, it was interesting. But I am rather fed up with competitions at the moment …

  4. We used to have meatloaf a lot when I was a kid. My favorite part was the ketchup cooked onto the top. I have always hated red meat and I really did not like mixing that stuff up. Cold, wet, gross,nasty stuff. I should make some for my husband.

  5. Like I said over on FB:

    Should have plated the 2 slices on either side of the mash and served with a blood red tomato sauce. Then you could have called it “Bat Out of Hell Meatloaf” 🙂

    Now that would have been poetic!

  6. I have only made meatloaf two or three times and I put a slice of the leftovers on a slice of toast with a fried egg on top and served it with chips & a salad! PS – Where’s the onion in the recipe? 😕

  7. I used to make it for my kids sometimes – the mince also had finely chopped mushrooms and tomato ketchup but the best bit was a blud cheese filling with a hint of chilli.

    I saw Meat Loaf in concert at Wembley Stadium – he was electrifying!

  8. excellent effort. u have insight. this is good. i am not a poet in the kitchen. i am not a poet w food. i eat it like i’ve not eaten in a wk, any time every time and it is not poetry to watch. i am sorry u r targeting a crowd as unpoetic as me (well probably not that bad!) but we LOVE that u r in the kitchen w us. not all is lost. keep on caruso!

  9. Not exciting. I am sure it is one of those meals that you look at and think… I better eat this or she may never cook again! And then surprise surprise- end up really enjoying it.
    Xx

  10. It’s been many years since my Meatloaf or my meatloaf days. 🙂

    I wanna know right now . . . before we go any further . . . do you love me . . . will you love me forever?

    Let me sleep on it . . .

  11. Mmmm. . . meatloaf. It’s kind of a comfort food for me – as long as it’s not too tomatoey (is that a word?). I have a favorite, but I’ll have to try this one. Not familiar with sambal oelek, though. I looked it up and found that it’s spicy. I love learning about something new. 🙂

  12. Ginger in meatloaf. Why not? Looks delicious! I haven’t found anything to which ginger doesn’t add a good flavor. I usually use fresh ginger, but I was out of it yesterday. Ground ginger worked well. I keep it on hand. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Cindy. Blessings to you…

  13. I’m more into meatloaf than I am into poetry. haha That looks yummy, Cindy! Maybe it is part of the Afrikaans in me, but I like it with a nice gravy and rice. I’m in a ‘saucy food and rice’ season in my life 🙂

  14. In spite of the prosaic nature of meatloaf in general, Cin, yours does look rather good on the plate. I remember my mother used to make a tasty meatloaf, have yet to find one that measures up… Ah, but isn’t that the way? 😉

  15. i’ve gotta say I don’t mind a little meatloaf, but I’m pretty sure the crispy bacon on top & the oodles of butter involved does the trick. Well done considering your, ummm, challenges of not being a fan 🙂

  16. Pingback: MARVIN LEE ADAY, A RECIPE? The Only Cin | Green Pepper Reviews

Leave a Reply

