AN INTERVIEW WITH CHEF JOHN VAN COLLER

Did you always want to be a chef / how did you become a chef?
Actually wanted to be an actor. But they said I wasΒ too short and ugly. Haha. My cousins, both excellent chefs, got me involved. Started work as soon as I finished school.

Tell us about your latest venture and where one can buy your products

Our latest venture is my girlfriend and I selling biscotti and brownies. For now! Our name is Angels Delight. You can contact me at vancoller.john@gmail.com for orders. We deliver within Cape Town and post to other areas.

Who do you rate as the world’s top three chefs?
Raymond Blanc, Rudi Liebenberg and former head chef and co-founder of NECI, Michel Leborgne.

What is your ultimate dinner menu?
Starter: My garlic mussels. Mains: char grilled rib eye with Bearnaise and basil mash and white chocolate mousse with summer berries for dessert.

Do you have a favourite wine?

Most dry white wines. And Beyerskloof red wines.

Johno’s brownies:
145g butter
200g caster sugar
2 eggs
115g cake flour
85g cocoa powder
55g nuts
100g white chocolate chopped into chunks

Pre heat oven 160deg C
*cream butter and sugar well
*add eggs 1 at a time beating well after each time
*add cocoa and flour and mix in.
*Fold in nuts and chocolate pour into greased baking pan and bake.
*40 minutes for gooey or 50 minutes for firmer
Enjoy

Thanks, Chef, I will.

50 thoughts on “AN INTERVIEW WITH CHEF JOHN VAN COLLER

  1. The brownies look good, but you didn’t get ny gorey details for us.

    Like his best discovery of combinations of flavours, how he’s rescued flops, what he makes in secret for just himself………

  2. Nice interview. I looooove brownies. Maybe the recipe is an excuse to make them again, you know, just to compare with the other brownie recipes I have. πŸ™‚

    What is cake flour? Just regular white flour?

  3. I have a question, Cin. If his new venture is the brownies and he gives the recipe out, why do people then have to order from him? Isn’t he hurting his venture, so to speak? Or is the ratio of those making it themselves not enough to do harm, vs. those who still choose to buy?

    • I had a severe mishap with a brownie recipe from a magazine over the weekend and John offered me his recipe. This kind gesture is a perfect example of his character.
      To answer your question:
      a) A lot of my readers are not inside of John’s target market, which is Cape Town, and those who are in Cape Town tend toward being foodies themselves, who are not likely to order the brownies.
      b) I expect that John’s clients will fall inside the hospitality industry ie coffee shops, delis and the like, who will place bulk orders rather than individual batches.
      Hope that helps?

  4. Cool! Interview a chef! How unique! Or maybe not. This is definitely my first exposure to a chef interview. I like it! The brownie looks delicious! And sitting beside a cup of coffee. I have my coffee right now, but where is my brownie? I know, I have the recipe. πŸ™‚ Blessings to you…

  5. Geez Cindy, you’ve got me going already & its I haven’t even got out of my PJ’s yet……’char grilled rib eye with Bearnaise and basil mash and white chocolate mousse with summer berries for dessert’. Wonder if he delivers breakfast heheheee πŸ™‚

  6. Good idea! Haven’t had beef w/bearnaise in years. Easter! Nice change from lamb or ham, especially with only three of us now. Thanks you too for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

