BATS AND BALLS

Side View’s weekend theme this week is METIER.

You’re catering now? I thought you’re a writer? Said the art director as I delivered my food for the crew’s lunch at the shoot. 

This took me back to a time when I worked for a woman who was a tyrant of the first order. A colleague; a young graphic designer, was a talented saxophonist and was moonlighting with a band. One day he asked to be allowed to leave work an hour early, as the band were playing a gig in a neighbouring city that night. The boss refused, telling him You can only have one passion, decide what it’s going to be; design or music.

I disagree, I strongly disagree.

For me, life has been good; I found my métier and it is multi faceted. I am a writer who loves to cook, or a cook who loves to write. That I am permitted to live my life in such a way that both my passions are indulged is a blessing.

And so it came to pass that the aforementioned art director wrote to me. I have mince, she said. I replied Well;  good for you, that calls for bats and balls.

Easy Italian Meatballs

1 pack of lean beef mince

1 red onion, diced

2 heaped tablespoons breadcrumbs

Handful chopped Italian parsley

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 large egg

Salt & pepper to taste 

Combine all ingredients, form into balls and fry in olive oil.

What size balls? Asked the AD.

Er … about like a dachshund’s. Said I.

I always have meatballs in my fridge, they’re good lunchbox fillers, perfect little standbys for dipping in sweet chilli sauce for the cocktail hour and go well in a Napolitana sauce over rigatoni for a quick and easy supper after a rushed day. This dish was named bats and balls by my daughter, back when she was cuter, sweeter and still thought I was the source of everything that was clever and good. 

Parenting a teen, it seems, is not going to be my strong suite.

65 thoughts on “BATS AND BALLS

  1. I love meatballs, especially with mash and gravy, oh and peas. Sadly Pete doesn’t share this love. 😦 Think it’s from his boarding school days.
    Too funny – “Er … about like a dachshund’s. Said I.”
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Yes yes yes! Cooking and writing/writing and cooking – I too am lucky enough to life my life so as to ‘indulge the two’. At the moment writing has the upper hand (although we still eat!) I have a passion for korma meatballs.

  3. I dont think you would be Cindy Taylor if you didnt cook and write.

    I’ve watched my sister single-parenting 3 teens and well the last time we had to put out fires I had to threaten to kill (I used words like ‘hunt you down’) all 3 of them.

  4. Parenting teens is no-ones strong suite, Cindy. 🙂 We all struggle along doing the best we can for them.
    It’s a blessing to have even one passion. Enjoy filling your life with what you love doing.

  5. It’s quite funny – i was asking my husband that very same question this morning – writer or cook! I Love your meataballs – and good luck with your teenager!! Cos you are gonna need it!! Eish they can be hectic! Have a great weekend xxx jan

  6. Finding your way when you’re more broadly passionate is hard. Yes, if you can fulfill multiple of those passions simultaneously that must be quite something! I used to work for a boss similar to that 😦 I also totally disagree! You are privileged indeed, Cin.

  7. thanks for this one! Between you and Tandy I am able to make tasty food, without needing to go back to my normal (and by now boring) stock.
    Unfortunately I cannot give you any advice regarding a tween …

  8. Yes, we are allowed to have as many passions as we want! Yes, teenagers can be something else…and I think you should have her friends over, serve them bats and balls and tell them she named the dish so! You should see the Italian parsley in my garden…just gorgeous, another month and the bugs will be gnawing on it.

  9. Those meatballs look sublime. I get inspired when I come here at lunch time. I decide I should serve something special. It may not be what you present that day, because ingredients may not be in my cupboards or fridge, but something special. Thank you for the inspiration. In fact, I am putting chicken livers on my shopping list. It’s been a long time since we have enjoyed them. Chicken livers were in a recent post, I believe. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  10. About like a daschunds! so funny. I should really make some of those for my husband. Hamburger meat is really the only thing he likes. At least this would give him another option.

  11. Yum, bats and balls would be a time for me to come off my Alkaline food style. It pays to be an 90 percenter.

    Ouch, the pain of motherhood. I can hardly wait until she suddenly sees how much you’ve changed!! 😀 That generally happens after life delivers a swift blow to the youthful ego.

  12. I love bats and balls, I love that you have spoken up for those of us who have multiple passions and I love that you are also suffering through the tumultuous territory of raising a teen!

  13. I just made some meatballs, they really don’t look like yours 🙂 Mine are very lopsided. I hate to think what they might taste like. That’s ok I’m not eating them.

  14. ..you’re very talented at both…someone I would love to loathe, but you’re too stinkin’ lovely, so I cannot… thinking of you as I’m sipping a red from you part of the world, cheers ~

  15. Pingback: My Métier « Spirit Lights The Way

  16. Writer, cook – we women are no strangers to multi tasking., so no problem with multi faceted passions. Awesome meatballs girl, my fridge is lacking I can tell., have to get onto that one huh 🙂

  17. Pingback: Woman of Worth » Meatballs On Sunday!

Leave a Reply

