IF ALEXA CAME TO DINNER, PART ONE

In order to supply me with my monthly-case-of-wine-for-a-year prize, Alexa, the Kleine Zalze Cellar Door Manager sends me an email every month, asking which wine I’d like. When I got the email last week, I was too busy to peruse the list of wines and said that Alexa could surprise me and that it would be fun to see what surprises my case contained, I’d take her selection as a challenge to cook the three course meal that I’d present if she ever came to dinner.

My case arrived and first out was a 2009 Barrel Matured Shiraz from the Vineyard Selection. Alexa’s notes said  A young vintage, but typical of a warm climate Shiraz, laced with earthy and meaty undertones with a distinct white pepper aroma on the nose.  Very spicy, very sharp. Lovely.

Indeed. It was perfect for what I would serve as a main course for dinner with Alexa and – as coincidence would have it – perfect for what was happening in my oven at that very moment. Inspired by an Egyptian lamb shanks recipe, I’d put my own boerespin on it; a bit of masala spice, a lot of coriander … and a whole day of slow, slow roasting.

Thank you, Alexa and Kleine Zalze, it was a lovely evening.

48 thoughts on “IF ALEXA CAME TO DINNER, PART ONE

  1. The lamb looks absolutely delicious. Quite a coincidence – I was invited to dinner with a wine making friend last night (lucky me) as he had some Scandanavian importers and needed help with communicating in English – our main course was seven hour cooked lamb! and the wine was also a fantastic red – but mostly grenache based rather than your shiraz. Yum

  2. What a classy woman you are! I can see you being thrilled over the opportunity to plan the piece de resistence for Alexa. (If that is not spelled correctly, I know you know what I mean!)

    • Shanks are going a bit out of fashion, with the current food trend towards old fashioned cuts like neck and belly, who’s prices have suddenly shot up. So you may find the price of shanks dropping.

  3. My husband and I like lamb. Your lamb dish looks delicious! Lamb and cabbage is a simple recipe that we enjoy. I haven’t made it in a long time. I must change that. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  4. Oolala! That lamb shank looks done to perfection… and so tastily arranged on the plate. Makes me think ‘dinner’ even though I’ve barely finished breakfast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

