SUNDAES ON SUNDAYS AND A BIG FAVOUR, PLEASE

Today is the 119th anniversary of the First Documented Ice Cream Sundae and, would you believe, there are entire websites dedicated to this culinary item and from what claims to be the Official website of the dish, I find that there are also many books available on this noble subject. Further, I learn that

Sundaes are us, and they have been pleasuring our collective senses ever since 1892, when an enterprising Ithaca, New York, soda fountain proprietor accessorized a scoop of ice cream with sweet syrup and candied cherry, then named it after the Sabbath.

 

This is very sweet and it reminds me of an anecdote written by my friend Sue:

my friend L was helping me make the coffee, I keep my teaspoons in a ceramic container on the counter and they are all shapes & sizes.

‘Why are some of your spoons so long’ ? asks L
‘Those are sundae spoons’ I reply
‘What! you have special f#*king spoons for Sunday!!!

 

The story always makes me smile. Sue is a very good cook and is currently in the running to win a competition run by South African celebrity chef Justin Bonello. Those of you who are reading this and are on Facebook, please click here and ‘LIKE’ Sue’s oxtail recipe, she really deserves to win. It’ll only take you a minute. Make sure you vote for this picture:

  

53 thoughts on “SUNDAES ON SUNDAYS AND A BIG FAVOUR, PLEASE

  1. In case other people find this – to access “like”, I had to go back to Justin’s page, “like” it, then arrow back to Sue’s Oxtail…

    Wait a minute!!

    Did I just vote for an Oxtail dish? OMG…my vegetarian DNA is going to threaten flatulence!!

  2. As much as I would like to encourage your friend’s efforts, I cannot “like” oxtail stew. 😦

    Now, if she had created a Merlittle Sundae . . . I could get behind it.

  3. That is so interesting about Sundaes, Cin, and I love your story about the spoons! 😀

    I do love oxtail and Sue’s picture looks so appetising. Tried to vote, but there is no ‘like’ to click on so will try again later. No space for new comments either. 😦

  4. I never knew that about Sundaes, now that was one enterprising marketer to come up with such a catchy name. My pleasure to ‘like’ your friends oxtail soup recipe…., its a bit chilly this evening & now I’m looking around for food just like it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. By a strange coincidence, we were discussing just last night how they simply don’t seem to have raspberry syrup any more as delicious as in days of youth, with ice cream Sundaes consumed even at places like OK Bazaars cafeteria.

  6. Sunday spoons ? Brilliant.

    Unfortunately Count Czardas does not FB so will not be able to voite for Sue, and will instead have to buy her some oxtail and a quart of Black Label at the Boschoff Street Country Club.

  7. Its been a while since I had a great Sundae…need to remedy that hehe. Today would have been a good day for it. Been and voted earlier already for Sue. Hope she wins xx

  8. When I think of ice cream sundaes, I think of the neighborhood soda fountain and trips there with my mother. What a treat and a great memory. Ice cream sundaes will never go out of style. Yummy. Blessings, Cindy…

  9. Can one not vote on a website, Cindy? The link goes to Jason’s FB but he is not one of my friends. I can’t vote or like or nothing… (that I can see)…

  10. I’m visualizing what you with your humor would do with this: So, in your research, you might not have read about Jahn’s, a New York eatery era 1897 (and still one or two around and I was growing up). We had such delights as The Flaming Desire, huge bowl with five or six huge scoups of ice cream and other goodies topped by a flaming sugar cube. Or, Kitchen Sink – to be shared by six people – and then there was the Suicide Frappe, Boilermaker, Joe Sent Me and lot of others. You could also get a Two-cents Plain, i.e. a glass of seltzer water. All wood, 19th century decore and 19th century clothing on the waiters. —- Your trivia for today. Happy Sundae! 🙂

Leave a Reply

