STRANGE FRUIT SWINGING IN THE SOUTHERN BREEZE

 

I find it surprising how food trends spread like wild fire in so short a space of time. Lately, I have seen Dragon Fruit everywhere I browse on the net and decided to investigate this fruit myself. Finding it pretty enough, I was disappointed to discover that it tasted like … nothing. Still, wanting to blog about it, I went to Google to find if there was any interesting trivia, or – perhaps – a joke, about this strange fruit that would inspire a post. Imagine my surprise when I stumbled on this site [I have removed the links] :

We’re always looking for new jokes to add to our site to make it even better. If you have or know of a food/drink related joke that we don’t have on the site and would fit into Knock Knock Jokes or One Liner Jokes then submit it to us! Providing your jokes are in good taste we will add them within 48 hours!.

Alternatively how about;

The Swinging Lifestyle
For more information, why not visit our pals at Swinging we are sure that you will find the time well spent.

 

From Dragon Fruit to wife-swapping in one click? Reminded me of an episode I blogged about back in July 2008:

Whilst trawling the internet search engines for 100 pairs of cheap scissors to use as an invitation gimmick for an event I am planning for a hair salon, I stumbled upon a link to website featuring swinging.  As I had long been contemplating turning a neglected corner of my garden into a little hidey-hole play area for Original Bunn, with a swing and – perhaps – a small dollhouse; I immediately clicked through.

Oh my!  Swinging, for some, happens on a very different playground indeed. 

There is, it appears, a surprisingly large crowd of married people who arrange social meetings with other couples purely to engage in a bit of rumpy-pumpy spouse-swapping.  The activities are fully encouraged by all parties involved.

I would have had to register to enter deeper into the website to find out more, but worry so about a computer mechanic at Old Spouse’s office seeing the website in my history log at some future date.  What would he think?  But I’ve been wondering about the matter all day.  What do these people do if they meet up in the supermarket?  Do they form friendships with fellow ‘swingers’ and go on holiday together?

Would they send a sms to another couple:

Hey Charlene, there’s a rugby game on Saturday, come overand watch and then we’ll have a braai and a swing?

Old Spouse would have a heart attack if I suggested we do this with Les and Mabel from number 26.  In fact, I would die of embarrassment to see Les in his bathing suit and can’t begin to think of Mabel’s navel.

I just don’t get it at all. 

Why get married in the first place?

I hope they don’t take the children along…

Disclaimer: I got a lot of flak when I originally posted this. I am not knocking swingers – each to his own, and all that – I am simply; on a personal level, mystified by the whole business.

50 thoughts on “STRANGE FRUIT SWINGING IN THE SOUTHERN BREEZE

  1. hehe, i remember that one. how many marriages are ruined because of swinging if one of them is feeling insecure.

    now i’m worrying about Les and Mabel, seeing them in the supermarket could be very tricky

    the dragon fruit apparently looks more interesting than its taste, however the durian, an ugly and smelly ftuit tastes devine. so maybe looks aren’t everything

  2. what a scream…”rumpy-pumpy.” I MUST add that to my vernacular, but, first I must get a more active social life 😉
    You’ve a knack for taking a blog post from a-z, love it!
    (sidebar>> I love that song)

  3. Thanks for confirming the “quietness” of the poor wee dragon fruit. Swingers? I was approached once at a party by a couple. I thanked them graciously and left wondering which one chose me? Erg…! No temptation whatsoever.

  4. I often see dragon fruit on the streets in Port Louis – cut in half looking pretty – never bought one though – pleased you have done the research for me, now I don’t have to.
    Swinging – NO THANK YOU!
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Dragon fruit, is one of those eyecatchers…thinking that it might be sweet I was most disappointed with the ‘non’ taste!Swingers? ….LOL x

  6. I was invited once to be part of a talk show audience. Thought it so exciting that I didn’t think the topic would be inappropriate. There, on national TV they were discussing this and telling everyone how “wonderfully it has improved their marriage” and how they would recommend it to anyone!!!! I wanted to get up and leave. Lo and behold, the next morning a friend of a colleague of mine was surfing the channels and saw me on TV, thinking that I supported the topic… I had a bit of explaining to do. Unfortunately I have to say – NO-NO. The correct name for it is adultery. Could never stand for it.

    The dragon fruit looks pretty though. Pity it tastes like nothing 😦

  7. Shoo wee- I had a good giggle when I read that. Once upon a time….before my husband and I (ex) were actually married….. In fact he was in another relationship…..I attended a party that he was at.
    Anyway- it was a night of sinful fun. I don’t think anyone got into anyone’s trousers….but there was definitely lots of tongue swopping. There was a bunch of “games” and so much booze.
    That was the LAST. Never again. But it was fun for that night…..but then again- I was not in a relationship yet.
    Xx

  8. When I saw the title of this post, “Strange Fruit Swinging. . .” I was initially taken aback, but knowing you were from SA, I knew you did not realize the meaning it has for many Americans, most especially the Southerners. Billie Holliday recorded in the 30’s, I believe, a song called “Strange Fruit,” which was in reference to the bodies of Afro-Americans who had been lynched, and were still hanging, i.e., “swinging” from the trees.

    A disturbing image indeed, and it still chills me to the bone.

    That said, and on to your true intention 😀 – I have never ha dragon fruit, and I suspect I rpobably won’t, as I still haven’t gotten around to buying other unusual fruits (to me, at leat) of that ilk yet. So I guess you could say that dragon fruit is at the bottom of that rather extensive list. But, it is very pretty when cut! Uncut, it looks like a weird artichoke, though.

    • If you see above, my comment to libraryscene (who also caught on and loves Billie Holiday as much as I do), I make apologies to the writer of the song for the misuse of the line. The song was originally written as a poem and, yes, it never fails to chill.

      • Rereading your comment, I can see that it may be considered offensive. Please let me have your honest opinion and, if it is in bad taste, I will change it.
        Thanks, Paula xxx

  9. Ick swinging? That is just strange. Like you I say why get married? I have a neighbor though who would be all about it though. I don’t walk the dog down that street anymore.

    That fruit would look nice stacked in a tall large glass vase for a table setting.

  10. The fruit is a beautiful colour Cindy and would make a lovely tasteless garnish, kinda like an old boyfriend I used to have lol Seriously, I also had to laugh at your swinging story. I used to have a supervisor when I was younger and not long after I started working there she decided to share some information with me about her life. She informed me that she and her husband had been in a ménage à trois with her best friend for years, to which I requested that she tell me of no other strange behavior please. If you met her would never have guessed the weirdness she was hiding. Still makes me shudder.

  11. I’ve never seen nor heard of this fruit! It seems that I’ve been introduced to several exotic fruits over the past few years…loving it! One can get a bit bored with bananas and apples unless one has your culinary expertise!

  12. Excellent flow and swing to this post, Cin.

    I wonder whether some dragonfruit tastes better than the one you tried? I know that I’ve had oranges that burst with deliciousness and others that tasted like cardboard.

    • Nancy, from what I got out of Google, everyone’s experience was the same: no taste. I did find one writer who tried to be king and said it had a very gentle’ taste 😉

  13. Ha! Clever post, Cindy. I love how those searches can go.

    The only way we get dragonfruit here is sweetened, dried, and paced in little plastic bags. I got it that they don’t have much taste but for the added sugar, but never know they were so lovely.

Leave a Reply

