ABOUT ME

My name is Cindy-Ann, but you may address me in any way you feel comfortable.  I have some nicknames:

‘OC’ (from my company’s name, Original Cin) which has become ‘Ousie’ among some friends, mostly those in my Facebook group; Honour The Fag Hag.

‘Lovie’, which stems from a time when I owned a décor shop in Simonstown (La Vie En Rose).  The ‘bergies’ in the village called my friend and I ‘Lovie en Rose’ and the name stuck.

A lot of people call me Cin.

I was born in Bloemfontein and only attended one school, from Sub A to Matric; Eunice Girls School; I loved school.

I studied Fine Art in East London.

There is little that upsets me more than bigotry.

I am hopelessly in love with food and wine and my favourite day of the week is Sunday, when I love to entertain in my kitchen. I recently started doing small-scale catering for private events.

Writing is like another limb for me, I can’t conceive of life without it.  While I do write fiction and poetry, my real income is derived from editing educational material, and copywriting for advertising agencies on a freelance basis.

Music is an integral part of our family life.

Most of my shoes are red.

The greatest gift from my mother was her rule of an hour’s quiet reading after lunch, before we were allowed back into the swimming pool.  Needless to say, I often skipped the swimming and a life-long love affair with books began.  I don’t understand people who don’t read.  My sister-in-law, for instance, almost broke off her engagement to my brother during a family holiday because, as she said, ‘hy wil net lees’. (Good title for a poem?)

I always have three library books on the go at the same time: A work of fiction, a biography and a non-fiction reference book (cooking, quotations, music history etc).  There are books I keep for emergencies (forgot to go to the library) and dip into from time to time, these are usually collections; I especially enjoy the Granta books and my family oblige by giving them to me as gifts.

It is impossible to select a list of favourite authors, I love many and for many reasons.  Some years ago, I resolved to re-read books I’d enjoyed when I was younger.  This resolve came at the advice of my uncle, who said that a young reader would read to discover the plot, whereas a more mature taste would enable the reader to appreciate the craft of the author.  This has proved very true.

The period between World Wars 1 and 2 are particularly interesting to me.

I would love to have met Quentin Crisp…

There’s more, but that’s what this blog is about.

50 thoughts on “ABOUT ME

  1. I lost this page when I changed my blog theme, not sure how to retrieve pages versus posts, so I thought I would put it back as a category. Please ignore it and don’t think that I’m going a bit dotty 🙂

  2. Well, I think that even if you didn’t intend on posting it- it was great to read….
    I love reading too. (Which potential authors who find themselves bloggging don’t?)
    I wish I could write!!
    RED SHOES- I have officially one pair. And they hurt after a couple of hours….so always tempted to put another pair in the car. Black seems to be my colour- haha.
    Xx

  3. thanks for the interpretation…I didn’t know what she said either. I wish the men in my house liked to read. If it’s on an a computer screen, it’s likey they won’t read it. Reading is probably one of the most simple and rewarding pleasures one can immerse oneself in.

  4. Wonderful! Nice to have the piece put together. I would love to have met Mr. Crisp as welll ….

    And,Cindy, I thought of you when I did the post on Colette. I knew of everyone you’d be the one to know and lover her too.

    Blessings …

  5. Thank you for introducing yourself, Cindy-Ann. I’ve found in reading books from my youth and watching movies saw I long ago that my tastes have changed and my understanding has matured. I look at characters and their actions differently and notice aspects of the stories I missed in my earlier years. I suppose my own experiences having mellowed me so that I have become more compassionate and less judgmental, generally speaking, than in my youth. Blessings to you…

  6. I am Priscilla Anne 🙂
    Born in Johannesburg
    Attended many schools, loved them all.
    Am in love with your blog – especially your posts about the food you cook, splattered toads and fat bastards you drink and your red shoes.
    I will never forget that you were the first person to comment on my 24.com blog, and made me feel so welcome. You’re an inspiration Cin!

  7. I loved reading this… but if you want to reinstate is in an about me page go to your dashboard and under ‘links’ there’s an option to add ‘pages’ – you can go there and post your about me and it should show up on the front page…

  8. Hi, Cin
    This is a great reintroduction to you. I’ve been impressed (and jealous) of your blog and blogging skills from the first.
    I hope you keep this up and running.
    You’re the best!

  9. Hello Cindy! You look to be quite young but time and space means nothing when it comes to your likes, dislikes and how you approach life. It is like reading my own thoughts here and yet I am a grandmother ( my family, would say “a crazy one”…with love, of course). I have a partner of nearly 15yrs now but was married in another life and still connected to it with love. I have stacks of books, could not live without writing and the gift of loving to read came from my mother. Music is integral to my life as is art. I have an eclectic belief system and love nature in all its’ wonder. Thank you so much for sharing and I am happy to have come across your site.

  10. Cindy Sweetheart I have found you after 20 odd years and have been trying to find you for ages. Please be strong because I understand what you have been through and live through some of those times still. I had Jackie and fam here yesterday and my wife said what a lovely family you all are.There were times when we did not click but I always had a soft spot for you and will always have. I shall follow this with a letter but unfortunately not as well written as you!!! Keep your chin up dear we all love you still. If you wish you can email e your telephone number let me know. Love and best wishes. Sleep well my lovely princess. Your Uncle Lynn

Leave a Reply

