LAZY WIVES AND FACELESS FISH

 

On this day in 1897 Victor Mills was born.  He was a chemical engineer who worked for Proctor & Gamble.  He improved Duncan Hines cake mixes, improved Jif peanut butter, and invented Pampers disposable diapers. (sourced from foodreference.com).  From the improvements he chose to make, we can conclude that Mister Mills had a lazy wife and was thus compelled to work on things which would make life easier for both himself and his children. Looking back on my own life, I am most grateful for the Pampers. Thankfully, my days of needing them are over and my baby has grown up to the extent that her social agenda is busier than mine.

She was away at a sleepover with her best friend yesterday, which was a good thing; she was not afforded the opportunity of berating us for barbarity. Her current moral attitude to food involves not eating anything ‘that once had a face’. Our nice, fat yellowtail would – most certainly – have qualified.

In fact, as the fish lay staring at me from my kitchen counter, I too had severe misgivings; I lifted my knife several times to begin the process of beheading and gutting the poor fellow. This is a man’s job, I said to my husband and he; flattered and pleased at the opportunity to flaunt his Camel Man talents, did the job with no more than a flick of the wrist.

 

Stuffed with chopped tomato, onion, yellow peppers and pesto and wrapped in a tin foil blanket, the fish went into the oven to bake. We have ample left over, a kedgeree is on the cards for supper tonight.

Won’t resemble anything that ever had a face. Not remotely.

Ah, we mothers, what tricks we have up our sleeves.

60 thoughts on “LAZY WIVES AND FACELESS FISH

  1. I love yellow tail! We had fresh elf on Friday – Dave did the Camel Man thing and I am going to make fish stock 🙂 Have a great day xxx

  2. I love the story behind the fish face! 😉
    I’m a vegetarian who only eats fish… luckily, as I’m married to an AVID fly fisherman!

    Love your recipe, Cindy… will pass on to my Camel Man to try out at our next braai!

    Candice

  3. Drool delish at such gorgeous fare and a double thumbs up for saignant 🙂 Not squeamish with face fodder but it’s the “aroma” while filleting fish that make my toes curl ;-(

  4. Hehe, lovely story Cindy. I hope you post the second part….the kedgeree….as well! I also am not able to deal with faces. Camel men always to the rescue! I am convinced that, stuffed with those ingredients, this must have been the most sublime meal. xx

  5. None of us has qualms about food with faces, so fish is often on the menu. But I usually get the fishmonger to do the deed 🙂

    • When we’re in Cape Town, we buy directly from the boats and the fishermen do it for us. No idea why our fishmonger her in Johannesburg doesn’t do it; can only think that there is a large Jewish community and – with Pesach coming up – they may need the head and bits for gefilte fish. I must remember to ask.

  6. oooo yummmeeeee! This my favourite! I used to have a problem with it BUT im over that fear now *evil laughter* The photo of the fish is awesome!!! looking forward to the kedgeree recipe 🙂

  7. Very interesting post, Cin. Maybe the guy loved his wife sooo much he wanted to make her life easier…

    At the risk of giving away my age, we still used towelling nappies when I had my chidren – ugh!

  8. I do love a nice fish dinner, but doubt I would eat it (or anything) if I had to first chop off the “face”… or even see it being done. I’m not familiar with yellowtail – are they common there?

  9. Delicious! Dort missed a good meal, eh?

    I remember when Pampers first came out. P & G thought they’d sell themselves, but the diapers sat on store shelves and went no where. I was sceptical and continued to cloth diapers until diapers were virtually no longer necessary. Found then that they made great dusters!

    Blog on …

  10. Very funny, Cin – thank goodness for lazy ol’ Mrs Mills then, eh? 😉 My darling niece who is vegan (except for the odd late-night Big Mac munchie) has also been trying to encourage me to not eat anything “that once had a mother or a face” but I’m failing horribly on this front. (PS those photos are coming along very nicely 😀 )

  11. That poor tuna. lol
    The one job i hate more than anything in the kitchen is killing (murdering) lobsters.
    The fact that they are ugly makes it easier than it should be

  12. I’m a chef & yet still never saw beauty in seeing a face on my plate…., I know its silly, but get rid of that face & I’m ready to tuck in….. just don’t show me their faces 🙂

Leave a Reply

