NOMU DEMO SHATTERS ILLUSIONS OF BEING A GOOD GIRL

On the spur of the moment I accepted an invitation to a NoMU demonstration at the new Pick n Pay Good Food Studio in Hurlingham yesterday. With a bit of low flying through business-day traffic, I managed to make it in time and met up with fellow foodie Alida from Simply Delicious.

The studio is beautiful, and I regret not having taken more photos of it and the state-of-the-art equipment. Chef Nikki Laburn was a restaurant chef for many years before she realised that what she really enjoyed was teaching, so this job is a dream come true for her.

In Japanese, NoMU loosely translates as ‘to drink, swallow or savour’, but go here to see how the brand first came to have the name. I’ve long been a convert to the products in this brand’s range, so I was very interested to see what Nikki was going to do with them.

Our tasting menu consisted of:

Beef burgers with tangy tomato relish

Chicken kebabs with garlic and lemon

Red fish with garlic butter

Spicy Cajun prawns with aioli salad

Tomato pesto tart

Chocolate truffles

Everyone knows that prawns are possibly my favourite playground, so this was the most exciting recipe for me. Bear in mind that the quantities here are for a starter and that quantities should be tweaked for a more substantial meal.

8 large tiger prawns, deveined and shelled with tails on

2 Tablespoons NoMU Tomato and Herb Stir

1 Tablespoon NoMU Cajun Rub

30ml Extra virgin olive oil

1 Large Cos lettuce, chiffonade (cut into fine ribbons)

1 Large avocado, finely sliced

4 Tablespoons aioli (I use Jamie Oliver’s recipe)

1 Punnet pea shoots

Dressing:

Glug extra virgin olive oil

Juice of half a lemon

NoMU Just Salt

NoMU Just Pepper

Marinade the prawns in the NoMU Tomato and Herb Stir and the Cajun Rub for 15 minutes.

Heat the olive oil in a pan and sauté the prawns until they have cooked and the coating has turned nice and crunchy.

Mix the dressing and whisk.

Plate individual small heaps of lettuce, top with avocado and drizzle with dressing.

Top with dollops of aioli and place 2 prawns on top.

Garnish with pea shoots.

Most of the other delegates at the demo were Le Creuset store managers (do they only employ beautiful women?) and I asked the lady who runs the store nearest to my home about a product. She confirmed she had it stock and offered me a nice discount. Of course I had to stop by on my way home.

After such a wonderful morning, I was under no illusion that I was going to be very productive for the rest of the day, which means a weekend of catching up and getting back on track … thank heavens Monday is a public holiday!

Side View’s weekend theme is ‘illusion’, to participate please go to:

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/

43 thoughts on “NOMU DEMO SHATTERS ILLUSIONS OF BEING A GOOD GIRL

  1. I long for the day for my shellfish and prawn allergy to be over! That photo makes me drool.

    What about that spatula spoon that, I think, Tandy talked about? Does it work well. Hope you provide a photo.

  2. I love NoMu. I met the people that run it out at a dinner in CT once and they are actually lovely people too. Then we tried some of their products and it made me like them even more.

  3. “Glug extra virgin olive oil” – at last, an honest chef! The likes of Jamie always say “splash” when clearly their actions demonstrate them going way beyond that.

  4. That sounds like a fun experience! Prawns is one of my favorites too – not to cook – don’t have a clue, but to eat – yummy! Aren’t those kettles just delightful colours?

  5. Pingback: Deception & Self-Deception « Spirit Lights The Way

  6. Pingback: PRODUCT REVIEW: COOKME PASTA MIX « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

