IT’S REALLY NO SURPRISE

 

“Laughter would be bereaved if snobbery died.” Peter Ustinov

Hello, my name is Cindy and I am a food snob.

 

In one of those chainmails that do the rounds to share recipes, someone sent me this via email earlier in the week and I pasted it on Facebook, much to the amusement of my friends (who challenged me to actually make the dish):

Fritos Tuna Surprise

Combine:

  • 1 can tuna, drained and flaked
  • 1 cup cooked rice
  • 1 can of mushroom soup, undiluted
  • 1/2 cup milk

Place in a shallow casserole dish.

Mix the following for topping:

  • 1 packet crushed Fritos
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Bake at 180° for 30 minutes.

Much as I am always up for a challenge, I got as far as buying the Fritos, but balked at the tinned soup. I simply can’t bring myself to make it. I see that two of my friends have done the recipe (links to their blogs when they post about it) so I may end up eventually doing it…

I opted, instead, to do Tandy’s challenge to use white onions in a recipe. I made a crust for Kinglip; of diced onions, Pesto Princess rocket & walnut pesto and chopped pistachio nuts and stuck it in the oven to bake. With sweet potato mash, a very simple and satisfying meal that put the horror of the Fritos recipe out of my mind …

“We must never confuse elegance with snobbery.” Yves Saint Laurent.

REMINDER:

You still have a chance of winning a Pesto Princess apron. It’s very easy; simply leave a comment here, saying why you think you deserve it and Side View will choose the winner on Sunday.

79 thoughts on “IT’S REALLY NO SURPRISE

  1. I deserve the apron because #1, My “Sunday-go-to-meeting clothes” would really appreciate it; #2, I love pesto; #3,it would maybe motivate me to start cooking again; #4, I’m more of a food snob than Cindy.

  2. I can honestly say I have never opened/used/cooked with a can of cream of mushroom soup.

    I have, however, eaten my weight in Fritos over the years. 😀

  3. Urgh Fritos and Tuna makes my tummy turn…..
    If your hands have touched the apron, maybe some your your cooking inspriation and genius will have rubbed off and I will become more adventerous with my cullinary prowess – I think I therefore deserve to win the apron! My cooking-jo has seriously left the building!

  4. Because a product made in South Africa will remove the geopathic stress lines from the area in front of my stove so I would be able to stand there longer than 3 minutes??

  5. I deserve the apron because once my Mom-in-law made the Fritos Surprise, and I ate it. I ate it and I LIKED it. (Now we don’t want that happening again, do we? So: hand me that apron!) (And a glass of good wine.)

  6. I suppose I had better NOT say I deserve to win the apron *giggle*

    For some people any variety in their food from just fried steak, egg and chips may be what’s needed. Even if it involves fritos and packet soup.

    Do I assume I won’t be getting that wonderful concoction on Sunday. (Phew)

  7. Maddad used to make that (but with potato instead of rice) in his bachelor days. I’m so glad he hasn’t offered to cook since we have been married. 🙂

  8. Like something out of the ’50s. Yuk!
    Might make it palatable with bechamel instread of canned soup. But why. !! Ah well, those emails are always good for a chuckle.

  9. Guess I’m not a food snob, I amke a very nice potato dish with brown onion soup! *wonders if she should sprinkle fritos on it next time?*

  10. I could not bring myself to even finish reading that recipe….. My stomach just turns, and turns. Almost taste it! Yuck, yuck.
    Apron though was totally gorgeous on you!!! I am sure it would be gorgoues on me- haha!!!
    Xx

  11. I think I would stick to simply Frito’s too. (It sounds like one of those where, only once you’ve tried it, do you discover that it actually works much better than you might have ever imagined. But then again… I don’t know THAT much about food 😉 If it is really true that we eat with our eyes first, I do think your dish looks very appetizing.

  12. The apron sounds like a fabulous idea….! Except I’d probably end up painting with it on rather than cooking..!

  13. I do like Fritos but never think to buy them. One thing I have always hated is COOKED/HOT CANNED TUNA! I has to be cold for me, preferably with mayo. And it has to be canned in oil. Have you smelled the tuna in water? Now that’s one of my worst smells! 😦

  14. I need an apron – so that I can wipe my clay hands on that, instead of my T or jeans bottom. And for that reason I have to regretfully inform you that I am not a good candidate for a beautiful PP apron 😦
    BUT, PP goodies is the best. I go without rather than compromise on other brands.

  15. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  16. I don’t deserve the apron
    ‘cos I don’t do too much cooking
    my attempts at cordon bleu
    just end in tears and vloeking.
    But wait! My man, my masterchef –
    his old apron’s now a rag
    if I win the pesto princess comp
    I can dress him up in drag! 😉

  17. Oh Gawd (she says hanging her head in shame) – I try so hard NOT to be a food snob…., but the tin ingredients, I just can’t quite get around it.
    Time to join up with Food Snobs Anonymous for me.

  18. Pingback: Something Savoury « Lavender and Lime

  19. Don’t worry, the Fritos would not have made it into the “dish” at my place either… It would have been gobbled up in the parking lot already. 🙂

  20. The weirdest request I have ever had was for a wedding, the bride wanted green beans and potatoes, topped with niknaks. YIKES!!

    I agree 100%…I am a food snob…guilty!

  21. LOL! How did I miss this post? I am just so out of blogging these days. Food snob?? Oh I think I am too to a certain extent…But HEY! I cannot back down from a challenge like this to make bad food good. It certainly went down a treat here. I pimped to my hearts content of course which, I suppose, defeated the object of this retro recipe of ease and speed. But heck it wasn’t too bad at all. I will try and blog it today. Should have already done so but have been very lax in posting…hugs xx

Leave a Reply

