HEARTS FOR MY MOTHER

 Happy birthday, Mom.

I miss you and, all these years later, I’m still very, very sorry about breaking William.

My mom’s heart biscuits (from her handwritten notes)

Makes about 100 biscuits

125ml (1/2 cup) butter

250ml (1 cup) sugar

1 egg

25ml (2 TBSP) milk

2,5ml (1/2 tsp) vanilla essence

625ml (2 ½ cups) cake flour

10ml (2 tsp) baking powder

2,5ml (1/2 tsp) salt

Soften butter with wooden spoon while adding sugar, until well blended.

Add egg, milk and vanilla and mix well.

Add sifted dry ingredients.

Mix well.

Put mixture in the fridge for 30 mins.

Roll out (3mm thickness) and cut into shapes.

Bake on a greased tray at 180C for 10 minutes.

You’re not here today, but you are with me always.

 Your face is in my mirror.

 I talk to my child in your voice.

 My hands; veined now, are yours. 

I will never stop missing you.

Sleep tight … 

Don’t let the bugs bite!

67 thoughts on “HEARTS FOR MY MOTHER

  1. You turnd those misty eyes around (that sounds painful, but you know what I mean – right?)and sent them right back to me, didn’t you? I love the cookie rcipe and your beautiful poem about your Mom. If she was anything like you – she’s someone I would love to have known!

  2. Happy Birthday Cindy’s Mom – I hope you know what a fabulous daughter you have, she is a credit to you and such a good person to “know”.

    A great post Cin and an awesome recipe, hope to try it when the next baking blitz comes around 🙂

  3. What a beautiful tribute to your mother. I’m glad she had the wisdom not to scold you. You knew, as much as she loved William, that she loved you more. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  4. Gawd…, I can’t imagine not having my Momma (yup…, I’m a Momma girl) around. My Mom tells me she still thinks of random things from time to time & thinks how much it’d be fun to share it with her mother. Moms are the business 🙂

  5. Oh man oh man, thank you for sharing the hand written recipe. Butter biscuits are the besttttt … and awww upon that your mom made them into a heart shape as well. Simply lovely 🙂

  6. Oh man oh man, thank you for sharing the hand written recipe. Butter biscuits are the besttttt and awww upon that your mom made them into a heart shape as well. Simply lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

