OF PURCHASED JOY AND AN APRON WINNER

Whoever said money can’t buy happiness has never experienced the joy of the arrival of the grinning Berco chaps when they deliver orders from the Yuppiechef online store, what I’ve come to term ‘boxes of happy’, and the sheer thrill of unpacking the treasures they contain.

Although I’d said my husband would draw the apron winner in the Pesto Princess giveaway out of a hat, there were too many entries to fit into any hat in our house, so I put them into my new Le Creuset 4L mixing bowl bought from Yuppiechef during the week.

I had mixed feelings when I unfolded the piece of paper Old Spouse had plucked from the bowl; joy, because a ‘real-life’ friend had won, and dismay that there may be a perception (suspicion?) that I’d somehow ‘rigged’ it. Old Spouse was adamant that I stick to my original rules. And so it is. The winner is Chantelle / JustChef and the wonderfully generous girls at Pesto Princess will be in touch with her to arrange delivery of her apron.

There’s another apron up for grabs this week; just leave a comment telling Pesto Princess why you think you deserve to win it. In the meantime, I’ll scout around for a suitably independent judge to choose the winner next weekend.

Now I’m off to cook oxtail and beans in my new bean pot, ain’t she a beauty?

Oh, but first a cup of tea; because, on this day in 1764 Charles Grey, 2nd Earl, was born. Earl Grey was supposedly given the recipe for Earl Grey Tea by a Chinese mandarin with whom he was friends (and/or whose life either he or another British diplomat saved).

54 thoughts on “OF PURCHASED JOY AND AN APRON WINNER

  1. Just call me Captain Jean-Luc Picard, and ask the food replicator console for a cup of “Earl Grey – hot!” My favorite tea, and I am equally in love with Lady Grey tea – which is the same, except with added lavender. Mmmmmmm. Lovely! (And where else would bergamot belong?)

  2. Oooooh my. I love your new toys. Im so keen to know how heavy they are Cindy. I would love some but I have one fused wrist and I struggle with heavy bowls and pots…and CONGRATS to Chantelle for winning the apron. I have to say I felt the same way about drawing the knife block at the Indaba….keep thinking that people might think it was rigged but I did it so openly and honestly…but it does bother me! Hugs and enjoy using your beautiful Le Creuset ware xx

    • Thanks Colly. The bowls are quite heavy and – being stoneware – I’d be careful if I were you. Maybe the Don could help with lifting in and out of the oven?

  3. Your bean pot is really attractive! I once bought a very old bean pot at a garage sale for practically nothing. It was a beautiful antique pot. My sister-in-law made baked beans with Boston brown bread and franks. I made them only one time in my bean pot, but I always cherished the pot. Somehow my bean pot didn’t make it to Texas, and I can’t remember what happened to it. Enjoy your beautiful pot! Blessings to you…

  4. YAY YAY YAY!! Thank you so much!! And thanks to Old Spouse for sticking to the rules! xxx Once I have it, we can cyber cook something together one Saturday afternoon!!

  5. I would LOVE a Pesto princess apron because I have to be their biggest fan! It’s the only pesto I ever buy 🙂 As an added bonus blue is my favourite colour 🙂

Leave a Reply

