CROSS AUNTS ON THE HORIZON

 

Side View’s weekend theme this week is a photo-prompt.

It is a picture of a lioness gazing at the horizon.

It has me stymied.

All I can think of is that Easter is looming on the horizon … so, here’s a teacup full of Easter eggs.

And a nice idea for an Easter brunch dish:

My best friend in high school, Tania, is the kind of lass who’s every word is funny. She can relate the most tragic events in a manner that has me in stitches. She once referred to croissants as cross aunts and I’ve never called them by any other name since.

I chanced upon a recipe in the Collector’s Edition House and Leisure Food and decided to fiddle with it, adding things to make it robust enough to serve as a meal on its own.

8 croissants, halved and spread with Pesto Princess Rocket and Walnut Pesto

Handful of halved cherry tomatoes

1 Packet of smoked bacon, fried and finely diced

3 Tablespoons caponata (recipe found here)

Handful of chopped  spring onions, lightly sautéed.

Layer the above into an oiled springform cake tin, covering the outside in tin foil (so that it doesn’t leak). Season layers with salt and pepper to taste.

Cover with a beaten mixture of:

6 Eggs

500ml Cream

Bake at 180C until set, mine took about 40 minutes.

Oh, before I trot off to play with all the new toys in my kitchen, some Coca Cola trivia about this day in history: In 1894 Coca Cola was first bottled by Joseph A. Biedenham of Vicksburg, Mississippi. Before that it was only mixed to order at the soda fountain. And in 1929 Asa Griggs Candler died. In 1887, Asa Candler, a wholesale druggist, purchased the formula for Coca-Cola from John S. Pemberton, an Atlanta pharmacist, for $2,300. He sold the company in 1919 for $25 million. (Source – foodreference.com)

Another of my recipes using cross aunts:

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/cross-aunts-pudding/

42 thoughts on “CROSS AUNTS ON THE HORIZON

  1. I laughed at your segue from lioness to Easter eggs. Fascinating how your mind transitions from the Serengeti to the kitchen. 😀

    In Paris, pour petite dejeuner, I enjoyed cafe au lait, fresh orange juice, and a croissant (or baguette) with sweet butter each morning. Best breakfasts ever.

  2. You are too clever, Cin, at changing the subject! Love the Easter Eggs – pity to eat them. Croissants have never been a favourite of mine. I find them too dry. Maybe I’ll like your recipe though. A quiche with a difference!

  3. Pingback: Hunger in the Grass « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. i) I think your horizon interpretation is fiendishly clever
    ii) I covet your teacup
    iii) Those cross aunts look mouth watering
    iv) it is mind boggling to think that a taste has made millions of dollars. A flavour was worth a fortune. So that’s what Macbeth’s witches were up to all those years ago.

  5. i) I worry about my thought process sometimes 😉
    ii) I shall give it to you when I meet you 😀
    iii) Was tasty 🙂
    iv) And it is the best meat tenderiser ever, saves much toil and trouble 🙂

  6. Of course, I would love the cross aunt pudding! Yummy! All your recipes are superb.

    My daughter when a young child heard the song with lyrics that said “In the arms of sweet deliverance, I will lay my heavy burdens down”. She heard it wrong and sang it like this: “In the arms of sweet liver lips… Ha! Love it! Blessings…

  7. Love the picture prompt.. shall now not worry about getting myself out for a drink, but instead enjoy my malbec while I ponder a tribute to the lion..

    ..I’m glad that I’m not the only one who thought of the cocaine when I read your ditty…perhaps we were a more subdued country back then..

Leave a Reply

