COGITATION, ANGELS AND DOG BONES

cog·i·tate/ˈkäjəˌtāt/

Verb: Think deeply about something; meditate or reflect.

My mother and I often misused words we found funny. ‘Fructify’ was used as an expletive in extremely trying situations which had nothing to do with fruitfulness or productivity. ‘Cogitate’ was what she told me to do to cure constipation; quiet time on the toilet with a nice book until the problem went away.

I’ve been cogitating much of late on the subjects of luck and angels. Both seem recurring leitmotifs in my life. My cup runneth over, really; I am eager to give thanks and the only way I know to do this is to feed people.

I recently won a prize from Tandy for my entry in her Come Dine With Me challenge; a beautiful piece of cake jewellery from her sister’s company Stylish Celebrations. My dazzling little angel is a hit atop my dessert cake every time I use it as a decoration. Thank you Tandy and Kerry.

 

And to thank the barman who helped us getting Fritzl back home, I thought a rich chocolate cake would be a small token of my family’s deep appreciation. No, I’m not going to tell you if the decorations are real dog biscuits …

 

We’re all kissed by angels but some of us never think to pucker. 

Terri Guillemets

56 thoughts on “COGITATION, ANGELS AND DOG BONES

  1. I firmly believe in angels but mine have been on strike or holiday or something – they are probably overworked the poor things! But I know they are coming back – I can feel it!
    That angel of yours is beautiful!

  2. I believe that feeding people is just about the best way to spread ones good fortune around ….. at the risk of sounding too Mother Theresa – easter is coming and how about making one of those fab cakes of yours for your local childrens home or retirement home or spca or ambulance crew? too far??? xxxx

  3. Cogitate! Food for thought! I love entertaining but with my ‘health-gym freaks’ it doesn’t happen anymore and I miss it… Nice gift…

  4. Love your Mum’s cure for constipation.

    I think it’s wonderful that you make thank you food: you are feeding one of our deepest needs in a very personal (and delcious) way.

    Now, what can I do to help you…?

  5. I shall never think of ‘cogitate’ in the same way, ever again.

    (My mother’s saying on constipations was
    ‘procrastination is the biggest cause of constipation’)

    ((I dread to think what my kids will tell their kids about what I say sometimes. ))

  6. I never would have thought about it, but since you mentioned it, I’m trying to think what else they might be other than dog biscuits. Ha! My sister, when a toddler, used to eat the dog’s dry food if she got a chance. She liked it. Dog biscuits smell good, but, well, I have never tried them. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  7. Love the angel, the cakes (goes without saying!), and the new look of your blog – fresh, clean, professional. Well done! Oh, I forgot to mention the quote at the end – to which all I can say is: Yes!

  8. Wow! Like the new layout for your blog. Did you change themes, or just the appearance settings?

    I used to think that the best way to love is to listen . . . I’ve cogitated on that thought and have changed my mind.

    The best way to love is to feed people. {{pucker up}}

  9. Now that would have been a cute doggie bit of fun if the bones were made of dog biscuits huh. Nice little cake angel too kid….., feeding people is the best way to give thanks I think, specially when it comes from the heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

