SPITTING AND SOUR CREAM

On the 1st of March in 1989, Jack Dietz beat the world record for spitting watermelon seeds a distance of 66 feet 11 inches. It appears that such contests are held during the summer months all over the United States of America. Can this be true?

There’s just no end to the surprising trivia I discover in my daily reading of the culinary calendar, but I shall have to set it aside for the moment because something even more exciting has arrived for me to read. Jane-Anne Hobbs recommended this, The Flavour Thesaurus, at the Indaba and I ordered it immediately upon my return to Johannesburg. Expect lots of snippets in future posts. Niki Segnit has written a book about which flavours pair well and why; her style is entertaining and she handles what could have been a dry theme in a quirky, romantic way:

Beetroot & Watercress: Earth and iron. Like a Zulu novel with a happy ending. The love of rustic, rosy-cheeked beetroot for outspoken watercress is requited. Combine lots of finely chopped watercress with soured cream and use to dress beetroot. Serve with oily fish, liver or rare steak.

I should perhaps have read that before I tipped my soured cream and oily fish over a potato …

Our potatoes are terribly ugly at this time of year; warty and sprouty, they’re not as unfortunate looking as Baldrick’s thingy, but – when I took a photo for by contribution to Tandy’s challenge to cook with sour cream – I am sure my camera winced. Here then is my baked potato (severely cropped to remove the offending bits) with sour cream, capers and smoked salmon.

40 thoughts on “SPITTING AND SOUR CREAM

    • It’s a worthwhile purchase, Jan, I am loving it. R332 at Exclusive Books. I think it’s cheaper from Amazon or Kalahari, but I couldn’t wait 🙂
      Enjoy your day. xxx

  1. There’s nothing quite as delicious as a baked potato with sour cream or butter or both. I like sour cream. I’d probably like the oily fish, too, but I’m not sure. Blessings…

  2. That’s a gorgeous looking book ~ brilliant.

    I adore baked potatoes with sour cream ~ as long as they don’t look like Baldrick’s thingy.

    Thanks, Cin!

  3. The flavour thesaurus sounds wonderful. What an idea! A base for creating new dishes for those of us who don’t know automatically! May have to order this one myself.
    Thanks for the pingback, Cindy. Baldrick’s Thingy often excites interest 🙂

  4. I thought every woman who likes cooking knows what flavours to pair with each other. All these years, I have been quietly avoiding asking anyone – too confessional. So now I learn… These will be very interesting snippets.

  5. I thoroughly enjoy Fat Bastard Chardonnay, not that I have been able to get it here for the last couple of years. 😦
    I LOVE the idea of The Flavour Thesaurus and can’t wait to hear more about it!
    🙂 Mandy

  6. Ooooh double drool delicious – what a lunch that would have made today! Have you had a red wine called Arabella before – i was given a bottle of their cab sav as a gift and was wondering if it was good drinking or should rather be thrown in the pot?

  7. I love Fat Bastard! And did you know that there is a Skinny Bitch as well? Seriously, there is…I kid you not! I haven’t found it here, but my niece bought both of them for their wedding party!

  8. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

