FYNDRAAI FISH PARCELS

I recently won a meal for two at Solms Delta Wine Estate’s restaurant, Fyndraai. As I don’t know when next I’ll be in Cape Town, I joked with the estate’s PR lady, Paula, that I’d have to cook something from the menu at home and have a ‘pretend’ visit to the restaurant.

Within a very short time, Paula sent me one of Chef Shaun Schoeman’s menu recipes. An absolute delight; it’s sure to be a regular in my household; my husband seldom waxes lyrical about my food, but this got a lot of praise and I was told I can ‘make it anytime’.

Fyndraai Fish parcel recipe serves 4 pax

1,2kg fresh line fish fillet (prefably kingklip) in 250gr portions, skinned and de-boned.

Large piece of heavy duty foil and grease-proof paper…NB…foil and paper should be large enough to cover (wrap) the fish

For the masala marinade

100g fresh ginger

2 teaspoons fish masala spice (powder) (I used paste)

2 teaspoons chilli powder (I used chopped fresh chilli)

10 large cloves garlic – chopped

1 large onion -chopped and braised in advance and chilled

150g chopped springonions

ΒΎ cup olive oil blend

1 tin coconut milk

Method

Mix all dried ingredients together in a bowl. Add olive oil blend and coconut milk and mix thoroughly. One can add a squeeze of lemon and zest for flavour.

Place this mixture in a bowl and add fish portions, making sure the fish is well coated in this masala mixture. This should be done 8 hours before cooking, to ensure proper marinating and to absorb flavours.

How to make the parcel

Cut 30cmx30cm squares of foil and grease proof paper (fish should be sufficient for five parcels)

Place a portion of the marinated fish, plus some of the marinade , onto the centre of the foil.

NB – shiny side up

Place buttered grease proof paper (buttered side facing down) onto the fish. Fold all four sides together with the paper, to form a parcel.

Cooking method

Place parcel in a hot pan for approx 30 seconds , finish in a pre-heated oven 160Β°C for about 6-8 minutes. Serve

Serving suggestions…can be served with rice and fruit chutney….and or baked potato. (My crowd had begged for fries.)

Bon appetit

54 thoughts on “FYNDRAAI FISH PARCELS

  1. Congrats on winning dinner for two and for wowing OS and OB with a new recipe!

    I love curries, but have never had fish with masala. I would definitely give this a go.

  2. What is the reason for putting the parcel in a hot pan for 30 secs? I would opt for the chips as well! πŸ™‚

  3. Looks great! Are you sure Chef Shaun isn’t on his way to you with a meat cleaver to discuss the publishing of his secret formula which has been in the family ever since Noah whipped it up on the Ark for a bit of variety? πŸ™‚

  4. OMG! Cindy! That looks so fabulous! Dang it that my hubs cannot handle spicy foods. . .think I’ll make it anyway one of these days when I have guests, and do a special piece of unspicy fish for him. Now as far as the choice of fish – should it be a firm white (salt water) fish? Like maybe tuna, red snapper, bluefish – what is the equivalent of the kingklip over here in the USA?

    BTW, from now on will you please consider your many readers across the pond and include ingredient, measurement, and temperature translations for those of us too lazy to do it ourselves? The measurements and temps I can handle – as can most of your readers, but the ingredients? That’s another story all together! You really need that extra work these days, don’t you? πŸ˜€

    • Yes, Paula, Kingklip is endemic to SA, but any firm-fleshed sea fish will do.
      I’ll do my best to provide the info to my upside-down friends in future, hadn’t crossed my mind before πŸ™‚

  5. Deliciousness personified, I’ve so enjoyed catching up with all your latest food blogs – you are an inspiration to all us non-foodie people πŸ™‚ look after yourself, luv Wildie

  6. My husband would faint from ecstasy to eat such a delicacy. It looks delicious, and the special ingredients would lack nothing but a marvelous chef to prepare it. Your hubby is a blessed man to have a sweet in-house chef. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  7. ‘fish masala spice’ is very African. Can’t get it in UK to my knowledge…. I have some I bought in Uganda. πŸ™‚
    Sounds a great recipe.

  8. COOKING ALERT: Please come to Canada next week. Three Soul Safari women who met in Africa are sojourning in Western Canada. Need a cook desperately. You fit profile perfectly. Can have Canadian Passport to lend if necessary. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

