SWEET SATURDAY AND WEIGHTY BREASTS

 

Culinary Calendar trivia for the day: 27 February 1879:

The artificial sweetener, Saccharin, was discovered by Messrs Fahlberg and Remsen at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. The FDA has required warning labels, since 1972, on products using saccharin because it is a suspected carcinogen.

See? No point in trying to get away from good old sugar, is there?

I’ve been challenged by Tandy to bake something using chocolate and sour cream. She doesn’t qualify that these ingredients should be used together in the same recipe, so I’ve been a little sneaky and used the chocolate first. (Sour cream sometime next week.)

I had a baking-fest in my kitchen yesterday and the motivation behind baking with almonds comes from the bottle of Rose that was included in our goodie bags. Sweet, with a blast of tropical fruits, it’s the perfect wine for high tea. Thank you Anura Wines.

While searching online for a recipe for my Florentines, I was distracted by a quote I found by the French novelist,Colette:

“Don’t eat too many almonds; they add weight to the breasts.”

 

Righty-ho, then, best limit my intake; don’t want to break my bathroom scales.

47 thoughts on “SWEET SATURDAY AND WEIGHTY BREASTS

  1. Well THAT answers the question I’ve always been asking………..I have obviously eaten too many almonds in my lifetime! Beautiful photies….Big breasted hugs to you 🙂 xx

  2. Crikey.
    I need more almonds in my diet then, having always been deficient in that area myself – so I have just added two table spoons-ful to the half made Dundee cake mix… (but I can’t finish making it until the eggs arrive by emergency transport….)

  3. …she lies, unless my breast have relocated 😉 Now, as for the other two rounded body parts south of the equator.. Adore your ginger peeps, cute enough to eat!

  4. What a lovely post : pictures, Cindy’s words, comments of course and Colette’s visit… Almonds, amandes, mandorla, are a symbol of renewal, transformation, fertility, virginity, immortality and happiness, amongst others. Almonds “dragees” are always present at weddings. Surely there is a link between those sweet Saturdays, weighty breasts and almonds 😉

  5. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

