SPUD HOARDING AND SUPER SAUCE

From the Culinary Calendar, we learn that on this day in 1922 “Donald McLean was born. McLean was a Scottish potato expert who supposedly had the world’s largest private collection of potatoes, with 367 varieties.”

I am an unabashed magpie when it comes to collecting things; I have teapots, miniature VW Beetles, wines, cookie cutters … the list is endless. But I can say with all honesty that I’ve never thought of collecting potatoes. Would one have a refrigerated cabinet to display them?

Another thing I am fast building up a collection of is Verlaque products, so I was a happy girl when I learned that they were one of the main sponsors of the Indaba. In my goodie bag was a bottle of their Cape Lemon Olive Oil and Raspberry Balsamic Reduction that I can’t wait to try.

 

My current fave is the Sweet Basil Olive Oil and Tomato Balsamic Reduction; I’m reaching the bottom* of my bottle and will have to stock up soon. It is just the perfect marinade for a coal roasted fillet steak sandwich, which we had last night.

 

Have a fabulous weekend, friends, and remember this:

Nothing would be more tiresome than eating and drinking if God had not made them a pleasure as well as a necessity. 

Voltaire

* ‘Reaching the bottom’ is Side View’s weekend theme.

If you wish to contribute, please go to:

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/

41 thoughts on “SPUD HOARDING AND SUPER SAUCE

  1. Cin, I am extremely worried that you have Lindt Chocolate and Wedgewood nougat in your collection! They are definitely meant to be eaten…

    On the potato collecting – sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction I suppose. Have a super weekend!

  2. What flavorful food must grace your table when you cook! I appreciate flavorful food. I, too, believe God intended food as a gift to be enjoyed as well as nutrition for our health. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  3. Is that top pic the “loot” you brought home from the Indaba? If so, wow! You’ll be reaching the bottom of flavor-filled bottles for some time yet.

    Tatties, taters, spuds . . . YUM!
    But for eating, not collecting and gathering dust.

    Love the quote: “Nothing would be more tiresome than eating and drinking if God had not made them a pleasure as well as a necessity.” Voltaire

  4. Here’s to pleasures & necessities my friend *clink* 😉 Potato collection… what the…… ? I’m all for collections….., my latest is a stunning magnum of Baby Grange (Penfolds Bin 389 Cabernet Shiraz 2007) gifted to me from a charity do I spoke at recently – it looks very fine indeed in my growing collection of collectable reds I gotta say 🙂

Leave a Reply

