FLYING COWS AND DUTCH PRINCESSES

From the Culinary Calendar on this date in history:

In 1930 At the St. Louis International Air Exposition, a cow supposedly flew in an airplane for the first time, and this same cow became the first cow to be milked while flying. Most likely the first true flying cow dung also.

I shall wonder about the cow’s experience whilst I sit on board my flight to Cape Town tomorrow en route to the long-awaited Food Bloggers Indaba.

It’s been a good week and Wednesday evening brought two special delights; I arrived home to find a case of a previously-unknown wine, and had the pleasure of a dinner with three special women around my kitchen table. This dinner has become an annual event; this being our third year. Happily, our gatherings will become more frequent; one of the ladies is a German, from Namibia, who is embarking on her MBA at the Wits University School of Business, so she will visit Johannesburg far more frequently. She is a vegetarian and I made my spinach pie, which yielded nice leftovers for my office lunch yesterday.

 

Our dinner had nothing to do with the case of wine, (we drank red; lots of very good red) which is Dutch-styled and is, as it says on its label By appointment to H.S.H. Friedrich 5th Prince of Solms-Baruth.

Princess Amalie zu Solms-Braunfels was immortalised by Rembrandt in 1632. After her marriage to the Prince of Orange, she played a significant role in Dutch political life. Her grandson, William III, King of England, provided refuge and financial support to thousands of French Huguenots after the revocation of the edict of Nantes in 1685. Among these, some 180 souls were relocated to the Cape and granted farms in the immediate vicinity of Delta (then called Zandvliet) where they laid the foundations of the modern South African wine industry.”

 

Happy weekend, friends. And remember the Latin proverb:

It is well to remember that there are five reasons for drinking: the arrival of a friend, one’s present or future thirst, the excellence of the wine, or any other reason.”

51 thoughts on “FLYING COWS AND DUTCH PRINCESSES

  1. I CANNOT WAIT TO MEET YOU!!!!!!!! ONE MORE SLEEP!!!!!!! Sorry, I’m not shouting, it’s just excitement *jumps up and down*

  2. Have a super FUN & splendiferous weekend, Cin!

    We’re having a visit today from my older brother and his family! Kids are 13, 11 & 11 (TWINS!). Haven’t seen them much since moving to Florida so we shall have a GRAND time of it.

  3. The spinach pie looks awesome…I hope you will share the recipe. I love anything with spinach! I am still full from dinner, but the sight of that pie is making me hungry! Enjoy your weekend!

  4. Owhhh, I do love the 5 reasons to drink wine 🙂 As I sip on a little chilled glass of reisling, I’m sure it fits the bill somewhere in that list. Have a great weekend Cindy…, can’t wait to hear more on your bloggers conference/gettogether 🙂

  5. You may think me crazy but I decided to take up drinking. Just a little here and there. I thought it a good way to incorporate more “red” into my diet. Maybe relax my stiff muscles. As I was on the wine aisle in the grocery store I was so amused by the inventive names on the labels. It was quite fun just too read them all. I might be inclined to buy just because of their funny names. I chose Riunite Lambrusco as suggested by my father. Honestly I am wondering if it is just me or does all wine really taste like vinegar? I did manage a lot more than usual today so if it’s the wine I will just learn to like it. And yes I had some for breakfast! With my chocolate soup that was supposed to be Mocha Pot de Creme!

Leave a Reply

