STICKY BUNS AND FIVE QUESTIONS

Today, according to the Culinary Calendar, is ‘Feast of Sticky Buns’. I can’t find anything via Google to support this claim and it sounds a bit rude (what on earth is a sticky bun?), so I shall move along to other things.

Quizzes and challenges habitually reappear and so it is that the ‘Famous Five’ quiz is doing the rounds again:

If you sit on my balcony just before dawn, you can hear the muezzin call from the minaret in the Emmarentia mosque. This is how I like to begin my day, with a blanket to fight the dawn chill and some dogs to fight the crime. I worry a bit, plan my day and read a few pages of my current library book. Sometimes, like this morning, I drag the laptop out and reply to the mail of the previous day.

My inbox contained a challenge which I am reluctant to ignore, as it comes from a friend with a rather large estate and no apparent heirs, so here is the reply:

THE ULTIMATE FIVE

Book:
The Bible. It has wonderful plots and fantastic lines. However, I must agree with Samuel Butler, “An apology to the Devil: it must be remembered that we have heard only one side of the case. God has written all the books”.

Painting:
American Gothic by Grant Wood.

Place:
Smitswinkelbaai.
Relaxation CD:
Etta James: Blue Gardenia

Dinner Guests:
Quentin Crisp
Margot Asquith
Coco Chanel
You.

With that done, I’ll get on with my day.
Happy Wednesday and remember:
“He is a drunkard who takes more than three glasses”. – Epictetus.

51 thoughts on “STICKY BUNS AND FIVE QUESTIONS

  1. I can’t imagine a feast of sticky buns. Although I like sticky buns, I think a feast of them would be rather sickening. It’s good that you can still have this time in the morning even with your change in schedule.

  2. I thought for sure with the title you were going to have a fabulous recipe for sticky buns (cinnamon rolls). I’ve been trying to find the perfect recipe. I made some good ones, then hubby found the “ultimate” recipe but it’s a pain in the butt to prepare.

  3. i have sat on that very balcony at a rediculously early hour and i must admit it is very peaceful even with a thumping headache. ..a nice memory. .

  4. Yes they do! Although many of teh shops that opened have closed… think JHB went a bit wild, and then went into hiding whenever a shop was close.
    Clearwater has a shop, and Sandton City.
    xx

  5. Pre-dawn, I prefer to start my day unconscious, and I’ve never been to the bay where Smit has his shop. Sticky buns as in Chelsea, I wonder?

    *memo to self* Buy much larger wineglass.

Leave a Reply

