A CONVERSATION WITH A YOUNGER ME

The Daily Post Prompt:

If you could go back in time and have a 5 minute conversation with yourself ten years ago, what would you say? (Mine is a repost and a letter instead of a conversation; it goes way further back than ten years … )

 

Hello You

Don’t get a fright, this is your 46 year old self and I thought I’d drop you a line.  I know you smoked grass last night and will probably think you are having some kind of hallucinogenic experience, but just indulge me and carry on reading.  (And don’t feel too bad about the grass; it turns out to be something you don’t really enjoy, lucky for you).

So, where you’re at right now is quite a complicated business hey?  I wish I could make it easier for you, but there are some things you have to suffer through; it’s a bum deal, but life’s like that.  I do want to ask you to be nicer to your mom, she’s not deliberately trying to cramp your style; she’s wiser than you realise and only wants that you realise your full potential.  She’s going to die too young and you’re going to kick yourself for being such a pratt.  You’ll miss her more than I can tell you.

Boys.  Hoo-ha, do you have some trouble coming!  What can I say; you already follow your heart and not your brain.  If it helps at all, rest assured that there is a happy ending.  All those toads you will kiss will only make you appreciate the Frog Prince, who eventually comes along, all the more.

You’re going to waste a lot of money on red shoes, my dear, no amount of advice from me to put the money into Unit Trusts instead is going to make an impact on you, and so I’ll just say that you should wear the shoes well.  Make them high heels, because I can tell you right now you’re not going to get any taller, no matter how many hours you spend stretching and hanging from the bathroom door frame.

There’s lots of other stuff … wear sunscreen, don’t smoke, wear a bra … but I’m getting a little tired now and need a nap.

Be kind to yourself Kiddo, everything is going to be OK.

I promise.

I love you.

Ps: Don’t bother with trying all the other perfumes, you’ll always return to Chanel No. 5.

54 thoughts on “A CONVERSATION WITH A YOUNGER ME

  1. I can’t believe I get to be first to comment on one of your posts! This is a great one – and set my mind on fire – what a great idea. The best part of this letter is your evident love for yourself – your affection for version 1.1.0 of you from 2.1.1! May we all be so blessed to have a caring self in our own corners. BTW, hope you had a great VD! (I know – I’m still immature enough that that gives me a giggle!)

  2. Delightful, Cindy. How many times I’ve wished I could communicate with younger me, but as you point out, the chances are we wouldn’t have listened anyway. Still, it’s a wonderful dream.

  3. Only 10 years? – better 30 years in my case: a letter to my 20 year old self. Ha – fat lot of chance that I’d have taken any notice.

  4. Pingback: Dear Paula, « Reflections From a Cloudy Mirror

Leave a Reply

