6 QUESTIONS, OFFICE LUNCH AND FLAT BOTTOMS

Would you rather be on ABC’s Extreme Home Make-Over or TLC’s What not to Wear?

If anybody dared to tell me how to dress I would bite their face off. That bloke on the Home Make-Over show shouts too much. I’d bite his face off too.

Do you have any tattoos?

Regretfully, yes.

Do you tell your kids about things you did growing up?

My daughter can’t get enough of my stories about my childhood.

If the traffic signal turns yellow, do you stop or speed up?

Stop.

What’s your preference: chocolate or chips?

Dark, bitter chocolate.

Would you rather be super intelligent or extremely good looking?

Duh, I’m a gorgeous genius!

(I have my tongue in my cheek *wink*) – quiz stolen from Nancy Hatch’s blog.

I was told last week by two colleagues that the lunches I bring to work are the subject of much speculation and envy and that everyone peeks into the fridge each morning to see what I’ve brought along. Truth be told, it’s always leftovers from the night before.

 

Today I’m having what I cooked yesterday for my friend Tandy’s ingredient challenge of the week; grapes. Chicken medallions cooked in a gewürztraminer and grape reduction, potato & carrot mash and a baby squash.

A local wine writer has called this wine the easiest wine to recognise, with its flamboyant bouquet of lychees, and the most difficult to spell.

Moving along to the Culinary Calendar (and steadfastly ignoring Valentine’s Day) today marks Trifon Zarezan (Vinegrowers or Viticulturists’ Day). This is a very ancient holiday rite; Bulgarians prune the vines and sprinkle them with wine for a good harvest.  It is also on this date, back in 1838, that Margaret E. Knight was born. An American inventor, she invented an improved paper bag machine to make bags with flat bottoms.

Happy week, friends, get out there with your flat-bottomed bags and have fun.

51 thoughts on “6 QUESTIONS, OFFICE LUNCH AND FLAT BOTTOMS

  1. I like the fun idea of 6 questions and how cool that your colleagues something to look forward to each morning. Brilliant.
    It has been far too long since I made potato and carrot mash and potato and green bean mash with onions too of course.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Thanks for the offer to come over and open! I need you mainly on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays – as that’s when Ashley works and I’m on my own! Come over any time! 😀 BTW, what is the stuff the chicken is sitting on in the above photo? I’m sure it must taste a whole lot better than it looks! Very unphotogenic sauce, I’m afraid! I will say however that if you cooked it, I’d be first in line to eat it! 😀

  3. I’m wondering if your lunch has ever gone missing? I certainly would be tempted to snatch your carrot and potato mash!

  4. “I was told last week by two colleagues that the lunches I bring to work are the subject of much speculation and envy and that everyone peeks into the fridge each morning to see what I’ve brought along.” – u must know that u brighten their day w your beauty and style, as u do ours. thanks for not isolating this near-fantasy cuisine from our own imaginations.

  5. imagine working somewhere where 50% of the staff bring in amazing lunches, and you are stuck not at home, so all you can manage is rye crackers and cheese or bought in stuff.

    I think I should hire you to make my lunches for me

  6. Himself often takes leftovers in to work to be micro kissed. I could put up with the shouting guy for a home makeover, my place really needs it.

  7. The sort of leftovers that make people want to come right over for!

    Those make-over types don’t dress that well themselves, in my opinion. They don’t speak so good, neither!

    I suppose better to be famous for flat bottoms than for an excessively rounded one.

  8. Pingback: Something Sweet « Lavender and Lime

  9. Here’s my answers Cindy:

    Would you rather be on ABC’s Extreme Home Make-Over or TLC’s What not to Wear?
    Neither. You’d never get me on TV

    Do you have any tattoos?
    Nope

    Do you tell your kids about things you did growing up?
    Yes, but they’ve reached the age when they think they’ve heard it all before

    If the traffic signal turns yellow, do you stop or speed up?
    I’m not an ‘amber gambler’

    What’s your preference: chocolate or chips?
    Green and Blacks rich milk chocolate.

    Would you rather be super intelligent or extremely good looking?
    Intelligent would be good.

  10. Ooh, I would love that potato and carrot mash.

    So, are you counting down the hours to the Food Bloggers Indaba? Are you bringing a scrapbook of foodie pics to share?

Leave a Reply

