STYLE AND FUNCTION

It’s seen all over Japan, China and Hong Kong, this little cat. Mine is about 5cm tall and lives on my kitchen window sill.

 

The Maneki Neko, literally “Beckoning Cat“; also known as Welcoming Cat, Lucky Cat, Money cat, or Fortune Cat. Sometimes incorrectly labelled Chinese Lucky Cat) is a common Japanese sculpture, often made of ceramic, which is believed to bring good luck to the owner. The sculpture depicts a cat (traditionally a Japanese Bobtail) beckoning with an upright paw, and is usually displayed—many times at the entrance—in shops, restaurants, pachinko parlors, and other businesses. Some of the sculptures are electric or battery-powered and have a slow-moving paw beckoning. In the design of the sculptures, a raised left paw supposedly attracts money, while a raised right paw protects it.

Blogging, for me, was much like placing a Maneki Neko out in the ether and welcoming strangers into my life. I waved and friends came rolling in, like a tsunami of unexpected riches. Gems, each and every one.

Now, that indefatigable source of unselfish daily support and uplifting advice, Doctor Sana Johnson-Quijada, has given me a ‘Stylish Blogger Award’. Thank you, Doc, for the award and for all that you put out there for people in need.

And so, in keeping with the rules of accepting this award, here are 7 things about me:

  1. I am the eldest of 3 children.
  2. For the first 5 years of my life, I was the (cherished) only grandchild on both my mother and father’s side of the family.
  3. I never experienced nastiness in any form until I was 8 years old and a girl at school called me a dwarfy shrimp.
  4. Being laughed at for being smaller than everyone else gave me a lifelong hatred of discrimination in any form.
  5. I set aside 15 minutes every morning, upon waking, to worry about things. Then I get up and make coffee.
  6. I obsessively feel paper to ‘measure’ it’s stock quality; price tags in stores, menu cards in restaurants, books, business cards, posters … this is probably due to spending most of my adult life in the advertising industry.
  7. I regard a glass of good wine at the end of the day as my birthright. Winemakers all deserve to have a sainthood bestowed upon them.

 

The second rule of the award is to forward it to 6 bloggers. I am going to break this rule; I have spent an hour trying to choose from the 70-odd bloggers I subscribe to. I honestly cannot eliminate a single one of them, let alone narrow them down to 6.

They are simply too important to me, each and every one has a special place in my heart.

58 thoughts on “STYLE AND FUNCTION

  1. If ANYONE deserves the “Stylish Blogger” award, it’s you! What fun to get these gifts from people we respect. It gives one a nice glow – kind of like that glow you get from the glass of wine each evening.

    BTW, i couldn’t choose either. . .tell yu what! I’ll just consider myself chosen! ;-D How else would I get that award?!?!? I have Never been mistaken for being “stylish!” Quirky? Yes! Frivolous? You bet! Sentimental and mawkish? Definitely! But Stylish?!?!? Riiiiigghht! 😀

  2. Congratulations on receiving a second well deserved Stylish Award.
    It is lovely learning more about you. Thank you for sharing.
    🙂 Mandy
    PS. I feel your pain on the opposite end of the scale – I was always the tallest! My school photos are quite unique.

  3. What a sweet cat! This is the first time I have seen or heard of them. Thanks, Cin. Also for not forwarding the ‘challenge’ to me – I hate being drawn into these things – too much like chain letters/emails. Congrats on getting the Stylish Blogger award – you do deserve it.

  4. Looks like we have a few things in common Cin – I am still the youngest grandchild on my maternal and paternal grandparents side 🙂

    I was also always the shortest person in my class – that’s probably why I love killer heels so much now that I’m all “grown up”

    Re the kitty – I saw many of them in Singapore and I was also under the wrong impression that they were Chinese. I don’t own one though 😦

  5. The first time I saw those cats was in Hong Kong. I asked a shop owner what the significance was, and she said, “Grabbing the money.” 🙂
    Although your cat is very cute, it’s not the cat that’s brought the readers to your blog – your writing and your heart do that all for you! Congratulations on the award.
    Sunshine xx

  6. You are truly precious!
    Now please do tell- how the hell do you keep track of 70 odd bloggers?
    I am battling with the bit I have fallen in love with… I am battling to find time to even venture to new people.
    Never mind run a business, which seems to be going NO WHERE right now, be a mom and still and a partner, friend, sister, daughter- blah, blah, blah…… all those thinsg i seem to be sucking at at the moment.
    xxx

  7. Loved the post, especially: “Blogging, for me, was much like placing a Maneki Neko out in the ether and welcoming strangers into my life. I waved and friends came rolling in, like a tsunami of unexpected riches. Gems, each and every one.”

    Hear that?

    I’m purring. 😀

  8. Very nice post, Cindy. Your description of blogging as being like the Japanese Cat for you by drawing in many visitors, all of whom you appreciate. Such a sweet sentiment. Thank you for making us all feel welcome. You deserve a reward, and I congratulate you for being honored, not only by the award, but also by your many blogger friends enjoying your warmth and sincerity. Blessings to you always…

  9. Congratulations on the award, Cindy, it’s most deserved.
    I forgot all about being called ‘dwarfie’ and shrimp too 😦 Oh well, only the best gifts come in small packages!

  10. You DO write a wonderful blog, Cindy. Congratulations on your award! 🙂 I most certainly feel like I have gotten to know you better through reading it. Those are some interesting facts. There’s usually a story in reply to “why” – I believe anyway 🙂

  11. Congratulations – and however trite it sounds, it’s true: well deserved.

    Seventy seems to be a consistent number among bloggers. That’s where I’m at too, though there are about ten-twelve bloggers – you’re one – where I read every post though not necessarilty every day. It’s a challege, but I love it and consider it an enriching life resource.

    Thanks for the gift of you, Cindy.

  12. Well done, Cin. Congrats on your award. I’m not even a foodie and I thoroughly enjoy what you have shared over the past year. I now present you this non-post-able award of “Sauciest Gourmand” and you don’t have to disclose any secret recipes, find 6 who are even saucier or anything!

    Just accept and wallow! 😀

  13. I’m one of your new friends & I’ve gotta say I’m really enjoying my visits to your site Cindy, you always manage to make me think a little & well said about welcoming strangers into your life with your blog… I feel exactly the same about blogging too (a really exciting & fabulously unexpected outcome). Congrats on your award too 🙂

  14. I love this, cin. And I hope you get a grillion more awards! I, too, was the “baby Jesus” of the grandchild world (maternal side) and remained so, much to the dismay of my sister and cousins, until grandparents made their exit(s). In writing that about yourself, you made me remember how fantastic it felt to be “golden” and unconditionally adored. Thanks, pal x iz

  15. well deserved! have a nice evening in catching up (still can’t work wordpress out properly)
    your food is making me drool though…
    (didn’t think you hated/tired of your tat?

Leave a Reply

