TELL ME CONCHO, CONCHO, CONCHO …

Jan was running late for our brunch date, so I revisited the Exclusive Book sale. A tiny book caught my eye …

“An olla podrida? A smorgasbord? A hot pot? An ambigu? A salmagundi? An amphogouri? A cocktail? A bouquet garni? A rumfustian? A mirepoix? A kickshaw? A flummery?

Schott’ Food & Drink Miscellany is all of these and, perhaps, more.

Schott’ Food & Drink Miscellany is a snapper-up of unconsidered trifles. The book’s purpose is to sweep up the crumbs strewn carelessly across the conversational table-cloth.

Schott’ Food & Drink Miscellany makes very few claims to be exhaustive, authoritative, or even practical. In a kitchen the size of the Miscellany one could never attempt to prepare a full a la carte service – instead, the book hopes to whet the appetite with a gourmet tasting menu, or degustation.”

Naturally, I had to buy the book and make my way to the restaurant to meet my dear friend. Having proclaimed a frightful hangover earlier in the day, Jan looked disgustingly handsome and dapper. Brunch became a 6 hour delight of degustation, indeed; not only did we nibble constantly at various dishes, (the spicy Vietnamese pork under a potato pancake – we had it with a chilled Blanc de Noir – was sublime!) but we spoke and spoke and spoke … about anything and everything.

 

Eventually, regretfully, it was time for us to go to our respective homes; but first we thought to have a coffee and digestif to face the journey. We asked for espressos with Cointreau. A language barrier with the waitress ensued; they did not have concho on the menu …

With great hilarity we settled for Mandarin Cognac, to finish off what was a positively golden occasion.

Thank you, Jan.

With much love.

41 thoughts on “TELL ME CONCHO, CONCHO, CONCHO …

  1. That is one gorgeous looking man! And spending 6 hours with him means he is interesting to talk to as well… Some men just seem to have the whole package… *sigh*

  2. Love that “concho” story! Reminds me of a time shortly after we moved to Connecticut from Texas. My folks took us all out to eat at a locally famous seafood restaurant. It was near the end of August – not quite an “R” month, and my Mom asked if they had any “oysters.” The waiter looked puzzled, but said he would go check. He came back to the table shortly and said to my Mom, “We don’t have any right at the moment, but the barender said if you can wait, he will squeeze you some.”

    After my family’s hysterical laughter died down, my Mom asked agaon for “oysters.” It took two or three tries, and then she just wrote it down for him. (He thought she was asking for “orange juice!) Turns out they didn’t have any in yet. . .but it was worth it all for the laugh!

    Cointreau is my favorite liqueur – whenever I have it from now on, I’ll think of it as “concho!” BTW, Grand Marnier and Cointreau, other than the orange flavor, are not in the least alike! – But the Grand Marnier would taste better with coffee, I think – but then again, I don’t drink coffee! Guess I’ll never know. . .

  3. Damn, too bad he has a husband – he is truly devine – lucky husband indeed!!
    Halcyon day Cin – good for the soul!

  4. What a wonderful day, and gorgeous photo, Cindy! Glad you had such a lovely time.
    Cointreau will forever be called concho now, I reckon! Brilliant! 🙂
    We once went out for breakfast and my elder son asked the waitress for “poached eggs”. She put her hand to her mouth and splurted and giggled. She said they didn’t “have them” but then went to find out and came back to say they could poach eggs for my son. She’d NEVER heard that before – isn’t that hilarious?
    Sunshine xx

  5. I adore little books such as Schott for their size and quirky information!
    I’m certain there were many who wished to pull up a chair during your chat fest~ a stunning scene.

  6. What a fun experience! I love the look of your meal and the sound of your conversation and I must say, the look of Jan as well! This is one of the reasons that I love your blog Cindy.

Leave a Reply

