BREAKFAST, BAKER (SIR HERBERT) AND BLOG NAMES

When you have something for breakfast, you’re not going to be starving by lunch.
Bruce Barton

 

And so I see the wisdom behind this breakfast trolley and have – in two short days – learned to appreciate it. My choice this morning was toast with cheese and grapes with strawberry yoghurt (brought from my home fridge).

We huddled in earnest and then it was time for lunch at my desk.

 

This is the view from my window at work; it is one of the Herbert Baker residences that give Old Johannesburg (and Muizenberg) its unique character. It would have been the home of one of the Rand Lords, but I can’t find it referenced in any of the Baker online catalogues. Watch this space, I’m determined to uncover the history.

 

Mynakedbokkie has challenged us to reveal how we came to choose our blog names.

Well, my blog name was – for years – Original Cin.  (I had to change it when I moved to WordPress as I found somebody had already taken that name; hence the current TheOnly Cin.) Contrary to common assumption, the name Original Cin has nothing to do with Eve or the Bible.

Many, many years ago I started a business.  It was multi-faceted and my copywriter friend (Roy Weiss; does anyone know what became of him?  He seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth.) suggested calling the business The Seven Deadly Cins.  I didn’t like it.  We bandied several names about, none felt right.  There were two Cindys in the building, one a new girl, who’d only been with us a few weeks.  One day someone called asking to speak to Cindy. 

Our receptionist asked which one the caller wanted to speak to and the man said ‘the original one’…

 

55 thoughts on “BREAKFAST, BAKER (SIR HERBERT) AND BLOG NAMES

  1. Gorgeous view, Cindy – and everything looks so beautiful and green, the rains must have been good! Hope you’re enjoying your job.
    I love the story of your blog name … how funny!
    Sunshine xx

  2. I thought you were going to say that was your house and I was really going to have to fight envy. :-\ Hope we both have on like it one day but only if we have the money to keep it up too. Something to be said for cottages.

    I like the ‘original’ Cin. That’s a good pen name. 🙂

  3. I tend to disagree with the Bruce-ster… I am starving at lunch precisely for having had breakfast… and a snack around 10 or 11 depending on what time I had breakfast 🙂 But that is how it is supposed to be – it is healthy – 6 smaller meals rather than 1 or 2 large ones. 6 keep your metabolism on the treadmill all day. Grapes and yogurt would have been my 10 / 11. I love oats for breakfast 🙂
    That is a beautiful view for a window; it should make up for any creativity that is restrained by tailored clothing 😉
    Still thinks the blog name is very good… You’re not the first one (of several) – original – but rather the ONLY one – unique.

  4. Love this post . . . in part, because I love Cheese Toast, and grapes, and apples, and yummy looking bread on sandwiches, and stone buildings, and the Original Cin!

    Here’s looking at you, kid! 🙂

  5. Your breakfast and lunch photos make me hungry. Ha!

    What an interesting story of how you chose your blog name and then how it changed to the one you now have.

    My blog name, cah4el, has a story, but not so exciting. I misunderstood when I was choosing my blog name. I thought it was a user name. How’s that for mundane? Blessings to you…

  6. What a civilized lot to have a trolley for morning munchies. I’m eying the bread you brought from home and wondering if you made it. *Wipes up salivation* Omigod, it’s 1:30. Time for my egg salad on sprouted grain bread.

    I like the punch behind The Only. The Original means there’s many more. The Only pretty much says it!

  7. Oh that is looking so so so SO fresh. Winter time has made me appreciate fresh produce so much more. Look at those grapes and that sandwich.

    Cindy you are killing me, I am going to drown in my own saliva.

  8. my Grandfather owned a Sir Herbert Baker home in Waverley which despite being turned into offices still as the same facade as part of the National Heritage rules. It used to be the model on display at the architecture section of WITS. So, the university may be a good place to discover the origins of the house you are looking at 🙂

    • The Parktown Heritage Trust has a list of ‘plaqued’ HB buildings; this one is floodlit at night, so it must be on the list. I plan to nip across the road at lunchtime and check it out. Will let you know. 🙂

  9. I like your tenacity about researching the history of the Rand Lords home. I’m looking forward to hearing more.
    The only thing short with your breakie and lunch is a cup of tea! Well for me anyway. 😉
    I am sorry that you had to lose your “original” name but feel TheOnlyCin has just as much impact.
    Enjoy another happy day at work today.
    🙂 Mandy

  10. Are you sure this was a Herbert Baker house?A student of Herbert Bakers(Ralston)also built several houses and buildings which are so similiar.He designed Jeppe Boys High for instance which is such a beautiful historic building as well.

  11. That’s a nice story about how you came up with your blog name. Mine is still called Gimcrack Hospital from when I used to blog about work albeit in a heavily disguised way that didn’t identify any patients. Unfortunately I had a stalker who was threatening me with exposure so I changed the topics I blogged about. The name no longer really makes sense but I’ve kept it anyway.

    • It IS romantic, Jamie, I just adore those houses and can’t help imagining the history and making up stories about what life must have been like living in them all that time ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

