KISS, AND MAKE IT UP AS YOU GO …

This ‘WordPress Post A Day in 2011’ thing has me thrown. Ordinarily, I have no problem posting every day; I’ve sometimes posted more than once a day. In fact, looking at my stats, I have posted 537 times over a period of 9 months, which averages out at … I’m bad at math … could it be 17 posts a day? (Bear in mind that, at the start of my WordPress blogging, I was frantically archiving old material from my previous blog platform.)

But now, with the challenge to post every day and these irksome prompts coming into my inbox, my blogging mojo has had its hamstrings hacked at with a blunt axe. I trawl around for inspiration, even my kitchen doesn’t help me these days and Wikipedia gives me clangers like this one:

“Ocfentanil (A-3217) is an opioid analgesic that is an analogue of fentanyl and was developed in the early 1990s. It is similar to fentanyl in effects, producing strong analgesia and sedation, but is slightly more potent, with 3μg/kg of ocfentanil being equivalent to 5μg/kg of fentanyl.”

Nope, no poetry or recipe inspiration in that one.

And so I look to the mundane, the minutiae in my day; did my dogs do something funny enough to provide entertainment for my readers? No. They smell bad from the constant rain we’ve had. I got by for the first few days of the stench by imagining myself in the romantic dampness of an English castle, sitting in a chintzy armchair awaiting the return (from shooting pheasants?) of a handsome, tweed-clad Lord of the Manor. The romance of this image is long-gone. I’m left with the reality of stinky dogs.

I could relate my humiliation at my first client-meeting yesterday: my employer had said their dress code is ‘very casual’. My jeans and lots of bling with pretty heels was not the right interpretation. I need to make some purchases; formal black trousers and tailored shirts appear to be the order of the day. Yes, boring.

Everything is out of kilter at the moment. To prove this to you: it is 8am and – literally making hay while the sun shines – I am using this brief bit of watery sunlight to cook our supper for tonight. Best to keep things simple, I’m grilling some sausage and steak to have on rolls.

 

Just a splash of Verlaque and a dash of salt and pepper.

When things get complicated, it’s always best to KISS.

Keep.It.Simple.Stupid.

Happy Thursday, friends.

54 thoughts on “KISS, AND MAKE IT UP AS YOU GO …

  1. I’m glad I don’t have the pressure to post everyday any more, far more relaxing blogging. Your steaks look great, I could eat one now, my bovril sarmie didn’t quite hit the spot!

  2. This one is good for a few laughs though. Thanks. Fentanyl is good stuff. I had my one and only dose at my first – your old now and we need to check up your @## – colonoscopy. (How do you spell that anyway). I was very happy 🙂 for a couple of days.
    Keep on blogging.

  3. Aww Cin, a boerewors roll would just be perfect right now…I know the pressure of posting every day…and also decided to take each day as it comes now…tooooo much living to be done and posting to follow after the enjoyment!!! You’ll get into a routine very soon, I am excited for you girlfriend. oxo

  4. My husband would beam with pride at your braaing in the morning – he would braai 3 meals a day, 7 days a week.
    Today is a holiday here (Taipoosam Cavadee) so Pete and I slept in and went for a leisurely breakfast and for the first time I was completely relaxed (very proud of myself 🙂 ) about getting all my mails, blogging etc done in my normal time frames – they aren’t going anywhere and if I only complete a few of my tasks tomorrow, that’s also okay – geez quite a long way to tell you that I also don’t enjoy the pressure of having to post every day – the pressure takes the fun out of it.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Shoo wee that steak and wors looks devine!
    I agree- teh blogging daily seems to make me think that teh real great creative pieces get pushed aside, so that something can just go out. Mind you- you still manage most days.
    Please do fill us in on the new “job”…… i am hanging onto every word to hear more.
    xx

  6. At first glance, I thought the sausage and steaks were fancy pastries. You see what’s on my mind. I thought, hm, I’ve got the coffee and Cindy has the doughnuts. How unfair is that? The sausage and steaks look delicious. I like your unique way of dealing with wet dogs. Ha! It’s better than hanging them out to dry. Blessings to you…

  7. 1.96 posts per day, I think… That’s a lot. I was posting pretty close to one a day since I started my TM blog back in June. Don’t know how this happens, but the calendar turns an itsy-bitsy (same as every day, you’d think) and all of a sudden everything looks different. I am very much just taking it as it comes these days (though not without a little guilt…)

  8. Cindy, your posts have been sublime! You’ve been a real source of inspiration and I’ve wondered how you do it? You have inspired me to approach my day LOOKING for something exciting or interesting or funny to talk or write about. Even as you face a similar challenge to many (causing me to feel strangely comforted – ‘normal’) you write it in such a fun to read fashion. I have to add though, I’m not sure how much creativity gets to escape from tailored pants and shirts, but I imagine you’ll have a whole new stash of inspirational and funny material really soon – you have the knack for spotting a blogging moment a far way off 🙂 Given that it will be harder to find the time, I can imagine that we might not hear from you every day, but hoping that you will adapt and find a new rhythm that does work for you. Always a pleasure reading you, friend! You’ll find your feet before you know it!

  9. It’s difficult to post when you pressure yourself. I used to work myself in a frenzy at times…now I just go with the flow. I obviously only did a daily post on my poetry blog for a couple of months and was OVER IT! I used to post five or six days a week on my reg. blog…now, I don’t even know, depends on the week I guess. At any rate, no matter how often or seldom you post, I always look forward to reading what you’ve produced.

  10. With math skills like that, I’m surprised at your culinary prowess. 😀

    For summer casual, I prefer loose flowing skirts and sandals. Dressier and more comfy than jeans in hot climes.

    Glad that transition is going well for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

