ALTERED LANDSCAPE

There is a natural release of energy every seven years which encourages you to move forward and make changes.

Every seven years there is, within the system, a total change. It is a soul’s demand to be seen as an individual, not as a collective. http://www.innerself.com/Channelings/Cycles_of_Seven.htm

And so things change. For the past seven years I’ve managed a steady stream of work from the comfort zone of my little office, working to my own inner-clock. I’ve had Skype conferences with besuited gentlemen, they quite unaware that I am wearing my pyjamas with a smelly dog snoring at my feet. I’ve been able to break from editing a manuscript and dash to the kitchen to stick a chicken in the oven. I’ve been distracted by an clump of weeds and left the strategy document I was writing, because I could be confident of meeting my deadline by getting up at 2am to finish it and submit it to my client on time.

But, lately, I’ve found a niggling regret; a feeling of being insular, removed from the pulse of the world. And so, when I was made aware of a short-term contract to manage a new advertising campaign, I took a deep breath and jumped at it. I learned yesterday that I got the contract and – today – I begin, after all these years, Going To The Office.

This seemingly small change involves no end of logistical planning and my list is growing at a rapid rate:

Make sure meetings are scheduled to accommodate Original Bunn’s extra-mural activities;

Put together a list of slow-cooker meals that can be switched on in the morning to be ready for suppertime;

Ditto list of night-before meals that can be left in the fridge for O Bunn to microwave for after-school lunch;

Three parcels of school-lunch-parcels now (note to buy lettuce and wraps);

The ‘new office crowd’ are all very dressy; must dust off my heels and get some suits to the dry cleaner;

I’m peeing frequently (my sciatica playing up or nerves?); will this freak the new office crowd out?

Will the internet be banned at the new office? Can I check blogs and Facebook sporadically? (Eeeek!);

What if my MIL has a fall while I’m at work and Our Alice can’t reach me because I’m in a meeting?

Nevermind; it pays not to panic and – as they say – a change is as good as a holiday.

I have a good feeling about this; my exterior landscape will most certainly be different, I hope that the change in my interior landscape is enriching.

73 thoughts on “ALTERED LANDSCAPE

  1. Well done on getting the contract! I have also been working in an insulated environment for the last five years, working from home. It has a myriad of advantages (as you mentioned), but I do find myself missing the interaction with other people. Living in the “deep south” presents a problem finding suitable full time employment, but I will continue looking. Good luck!!!

  2. Good luck, Cindy. If it’s not to your liking, at least it’s short-term. And if you do like it, this is a good experience to land another of those jobs.

    Hope you’ll enjoy it!

  3. A change can be good. I like the alterations of working at home and at the client’s offices. It’s all good for keeping one on ones toes.

    Well done. It seems a bit daunting at first, but you are very organised really.

    PS – your MIL also has 2 sons.

  4. Lovely, Cin! I hope that you will find it to be every bit as stimulating and brilliant as I’ve found this job to be – it’s opened up such great avenues of thought and opportunity, as well as allowing to meet a wonderful range of people. We require updates!

  5. That’s so exciting, Cindy! You’ll do fabulously – both on the contract and in organising your life around it. Enjoy every minute, they’re lucky to have you!
    The seven year thing is so interesting – I was in my last two jobs in Cape Town for seven years each. I thought it was my thing, now I see it’s universal! 🙂
    Sunshine xx

  6. Awesome – and congratulations on landing the contract 😀 You’ll find it odd at first but I’m sure you’ll get back into the swing of things soon….besides, you’ve been working from home, so your skills are all present and correct.

    Best of luck!! 😉 xx

  7. I never knew the old Vienna before the war with its Strauss music, its glamour and easy charm. Constantinople suited me better.

  8. Congratulations!!! Best wishes on the new venture, but I hope it doesn’t keep you away from the rest of us too much! BTW, where is your “Clouds” contest entry? You need to get that off before you start the new job, because otherwise you might forget. . .and you would like to have, maybe, a genuine Paula Tohline Calhoun photo on the wall of your new office, wouldn’t you?. . .well, WOULDN’T YOU??? 😀

    Anyway, all kidding aside, I leave you with the following axiom that has served me well:

    “Don’t tell me not to worry, and that worrying won’t help, because NOTHING I WORRY ABOUT EVER HAPPENS!”

    Good luck and God bless, Cin!

  9. Good luck with this, Cindy.
    You know, I’m sure, that your 7-year number also means a totally different you. Every cell in your body replaced… hmmm…. come to think of it, I’m not sure brain cells… must… go… check… )

  10. Congrats on a new chapter in life. I’ve thought about going back to the office scene…my biggest worry is how the dog will make it through her days without me, so it keeps me hom, for now! I hope all works well for you.

  11. Great courage! You are an adventurer performing a short-term test of a new frontier. An invigorating challenge. A great start on a new seven years of conquest. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  12. It sounds like a wonderful adventure! Enjoy every moment of fun, growth, newness, people, creativity and challenge! I think you’re going to LOVE it! Good luck!

  13. Congratulations my friend, never doubt for a minute you’ll get it….know you will love it…(we will be looking out for you always!!) Biggest hug and blessings my friend oxoxox

  14. Sorry girl- catching up on Blogging guru’s and i asked you in today’s post- what your job plans were. Should really not work backwards hey?
    I am happy that you are happy!!! I hope you end up having alot of fun, and meeting some awesome people.
    And i hope that you enjoy the work.
    It is a big change! (I am sure yoru husband is grateful that the 7 year itch has not ended up affecting your relationship.)
    Have an awesome day.
    xx

  15. Pingback: FIVE (SIX!) SUPPERS IN A DAY « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

