JUST ANOTHER JANUARY TUESDAY

18 January,1818 George Palmer was born. Palmer, of Huntley and Palmer biscuit manufacturers, introduced the first biscuit tins.

Thank you, Mister Palmer, the world is a much better place for biscuit tins.

Yesterday, according to BBC Good Food (whom I follow on Twitter) was International Day of Italian Cuisines. I needed no encouragement to celebrate the day; we had another massive rainstorm, follwed by a persistent drizzle,Β and a rich bolognaise sauce with linguine was just the thing to stave off the Monday blues.

And today? More rain predicted; I think some sort of potato dish, with chourizo sausages. I may have good news in the next few hours and cause for celebration. Or solace may be needed and good old bangers and mash will do the trick.

Happy Tuesday, friends.

54 thoughts on “JUST ANOTHER JANUARY TUESDAY

  1. one of the things i luv about your photos, are the non-american portions! what a relief! we are so bombarded by delectable torture-me-more pictures and such of huge amounts of food that just play on my subconscious in a way that makes me cry mercy! u r lovely in yet one more way. keep on.

  2. That sauce looks just like the one I make in South Africa. Mmmm. I have to say though that in rainy weather I love “pannekoek, suiker en kaneel”, “melkkos” and “lekker stew”! Do you have a favorite rainy weather food?

  3. Sending positive thoughts.

    I also broke meatless monday with a lovely grilled sole, with not so nice veg.

    Why do restuarants make their veg so unappealing? The chap, when I siad I’d have preferred my veggies a bit crisper and less soggy, said, people ask for them like this.

  4. Yeah, I’d say that’s a pretty good way to celebrate a day dedicated to italian dishes! And let’s be honest – a rich bolognaise sauce with linguine is just the way to stave off a lot of blues, not just the Monday ones.

  5. Congratulations, you deserve it πŸ™‚ Hope things on the up for your friend, what a very desperate situation all round 😦 You did keep leftovers for me …. what a question πŸ˜‰

  6. The bolognaise sauce with linguine looks delicious. I like pasta dishes. Such a dining experience is consolation for the inclement weather.

    The first biscuit tins. Would that be the cylindrical tin that one may crack over the edge of the counter and the biscuits pop out? I was always fascinated by those. Yes, this was a significant culinary contribution to our lives. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you…

  7. Wish I had known about the Italian Cuisines day yesterday – I would have eaten Veal parmesan instead of Mexican American!

    BTW, did you know that you used the French version of an Italian word? Bolognese = Italian; blolgnaise = French translation of Bolognese

    pronounce bolognese as “bo-lone-yez-zay”
    ” bolognaise as “bo-lone-nez”

    Thus endeth the language lesson (as if you needed it!). πŸ˜€
    Hope you get great news, and the “bangers and mash” goes down wonderfully!!

Leave a Reply

