JUST ABOUT MUSHROOMS, REALLY

On this day in 1920 Prohibition began in the U.S., which banned the sale of all alcoholic beverages. Gangsters flourished, importing and producing bootleg alcohol, and American drank more than ever. Prohibition was finally repealed in 1933. The end of the ‘noble experiment.’ (source: foodreference.com)

Enough said. Now for some pictures. Tandy’s ingredient challenge of the week is the oyster mushroom. Manny, my handsome local fruitier, tells me he’s been throwing them away, because they’ve been that abundant and have been going off before they sell. Yesterday I hunted near and far and couldn’t find any. With great plans for a risotto I made do with button mushrooms.

 

Is it a South African thing to roast a bird on a can of soda or beer? Never mind, I think it should be embraced globally; this yields a tender chicken with all the fat cooked away.

 

Side View was my lunch guest, and we debated the merits of the mezzaluna over the knife for chopping herbs; the mezzaluna emerged a clear winner.

 

A meander around my rain-soaked garden awarded us mushrooms of a different ilk; I’ll refrain from testing them on my family as Sidey suggested.

 

We finished the afternoon watching Diski and Charlotte shooting the breeze.

 

43 thoughts on “JUST ABOUT MUSHROOMS, REALLY

  1. It was a lovely day thanks.

    I need to get one of those thingamubbygoodies for chopping.

    I thought about getting a can of coke and a chicken to try that, but had a moment of imagining the chicken becoming filled with the carbon bubbles, shooting straight through the top of the oven, the stove top and the extractor, and maybe taking whatever stands above it through the roof.

    Maybe I’ll take a week off before I try it, just in case my imagination has the ability to make things come true.

    Such a delish lunch, thank you.

  2. Pingback: Something Sweet « Lavender and Lime

  3. EEK! Those ‘home-grown’ mushrooms are scary! I’ll take two to make my WiL a nice mushroom curry though 🙂
    My Mezzaluna was one of my best investments for the kitchen.

  4. Just slowing down after dinner guest…where I prepared a couple of things I learned from you …they were very impressed….so thanks my friend and now I’m off to bed….enjoyed your post.

  5. Interesting the ‘chicken over the can’ cooking method… a couple of questions immediately spring to mind:

    a) Empty or full can?

    b) What about potential paint toxicity from can to inside of chicken?

    c) you must have mighty tall ovens… If I put a chicken in my oven like that there wouldn’t be room for anything else.

  6. I apologise in advance: the chicken over a can thing had me rolling around on the floor with mirth, Cindy! It looks like the perfect way to keep a chicken moist and flavoursome, but it is an inglorious end for honest fowl.

    But I must grow up, and recall that my ancestors stuffed some very strange things indeed up chickens’ bottoms.

  7. And she doesn’t look at all like a spider! Clever girl.

    We often have LOVELY mushrooms sprout up in our yard! Here’s one that I thought had a beautiful pattern on top, but I’m with Sidey – I wouldn’t put one in my mouth. I think if they were edible a bird or other creature would have snapped them up before I got to them anyway. But I LOVE mushrooms – Tree ears being my favorite. . .so flavorful!

  8. Love your posts as usual. You always have interesting tidbits…food for the soul and the stomach…as always thanks for sharing!

  9. I love CHicken done that way. Although i do sometimes wonder about the printing on the cans….
    Very impressed with your bunny rabbit and hound- that would have been dinner instead of the chicken. In fact, last week i watched the dogs bolt out into the garden like lightning- i rushed over to the balcony to see what all the commotion was about. They were doing circles in the garden, and when i really looked i saw what had driven them dilly- it was a rabbit. Looked more like a hare though…. much bigger than the new puppy.
    Eventually he squeezed through the electric fence and was gone.
    So that begs me to question- how did you actually get this right?
    xx

  10. By the way, I meant to tell you – Cooking chicken on the beer can is not solely SA! Done here in the good old USA, too. I admit to not having done it – but since neither hubs nor I are beer drinkers, I never have a can around when I want to bake a chicken!

    Wonder if I could cook a chicken over a bottle of wine? Perhaps a “split” of champagne. . .hmmm . . . Interesting! 😀

  11. Mm…love ’em mushrooms… sautéed with chopped garlic and some Italian herbs.. YUMMYYY!!
    And now all this chicken talk calls for some serious cooking tomorrow! Something’s in the kitchen, clucking at me thru’ the refrigerator door! 😉

  12. Pingback: Something Savoury « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

