KITCHEN WINDOW SILL DISPATCH

“1898 Charles Lutwidge Dodgson died. Dodgson’s pen name was Lewis Carroll. He was an English mathematician and creator of ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.’ Alice had a habit of eating and drinking unknown substances.”

This comes from a delightful recent find; a website that provides a daily calendar with a culinary timeline. Yesterday provided this little gem:

“1957 The Frisbee was invented. The pie tins of the Frisbee Pie Company of Connecticut were the inspiration for the creation of the Frisbee. A Wham-O employee supposedly saw drivers for the pie company showing Yale students how to throw the pie tins.”

Did you know that? I didn’t.

I also took a dip in unchartered waters and made something I’ve only ever eaten in a restaurant: chocolate-chilli sauce.

Fascinating how culinary chemistry works; there is no sweetness in the sauce, the chocolate simply serves as a binding agent to deliver a silky smooth consistency.

What a winner. I used the recipe found here:

http://www.karanbeef.com/lifestyle/recipes/showrecipe.asp?c=1&i=24

47 thoughts on “KITCHEN WINDOW SILL DISPATCH

  1. I have a confession – I have never read Alice in Wonderland. I recorded it on MNET the other night so will watch it 🙂 Have a super weekend. xox

  2. Trust George W. Bush to choke on a pretzel on the anniversary of a Pie company’s Wham-O. The man just cannot bear sharing the spotlight! Interesting food combination, but I bet it is delicious. Did all the squares of chocolate make it into the recipe? 🙂

  3. Talking about chocolate- “Elbows up” have a shop in the lifestyle centre- they sell a range Chocolate Balsamic Vinegar reductions, I bought one with Chilli. Absolutely stunning!
    xx

  4. I put cocoa in chili sauce once after hearing that it is sometimes used. It was good. I forgot all about it after that first experience. Life is full of many distractions; lots of innovations skate across my life like that. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you, Cin…

  5. I have tried making my usual chile concarne recipe with chocolate as I made it too hot one day… it calmed it down and added such a smooth texture. Yum.

Leave a Reply

