WONDERING ABOUT A WANDERER

Midday. We took a walk through our suburb; it’s so quiet at this time of the year, so lush and green.

Soon the clouds moved in, we heard the thunder and smelt the rain coming closer; we turned and quickened our pace toward home.

I thought he was dead at first, and then I saw the bottle in his embrace and heard a faint, grunting snore.

We got home safely, in time to tie everything down against the storm that flooded the garden within a ten-minute downpour.

I wonder who he is.

I wonder what he once dreamed; when he was a little boy.

39 thoughts on “WONDERING ABOUT A WANDERER

  1. Hmm.. sad.. I just hope the rain woke him up…and gave him enough time to get home! Poor guy.. But on second thought, who asked him to drink to point of no consciousness?!?! (whheeeww)
    Too many such wanderers on New York streets to wonder about… some bloody-lipped too.. 😦

  2. Yes, Cin, I always wonder how they come to be at this place in their lives – somebody’s son etc. Too many humans who have discarded themselves or who have been discarded. bb.

  3. life has some strange paths – Steinbeck’s Cannery Row made me see outties/hobos in a very different light. Happy New Year to you and all of yours, Cin. x

  4. They say, don’t they: Every mother’s son. Since I had Felix these things have become searing because one cannot predict what life will bring us. Even London’s city financier’s come to this on occasion.

  5. i’ve wondered that before about folks in similar postures. unfortunately, i am ashamed to say i more often think of them in their current situation in life and forget about those dreams. u r right. we need to see both/all parts of them to see them

  6. What is most sad to me is that there are so many people in that situation..homeless without any hope….how is it that we can spend a country’s wealth on military prowess and ignore people…thanks for the post.

  7. According to the US Department of Housing and Urban Development, there were 643,067 sheltered and unsheltered homeless persons nationwide on a single night in January 2008.

    Additionally, about 1.6 million persons used an emergency shelter or a transitional housing program during the 12-month period between October 1, 2007 and September 30, 2008.

    This number suggests that roughly 1 in every 200 persons in the US used the shelter system at some point in that period.

  8. Who knows what happened in this man´s life on that particular day ? or earlier ? Why did he drink so much ? To forget ? To escape ? We will never know. Just see him in this present sad situation.

  9. I’ve come across similar men before (sometimes much younger) and wondered the same sort of things. Wondered whether to do anything or just let them sleep….

  10. Where are their families, their friends, their loved-ones? How do you end up completely alone on the sidewalk preferring a bottle of booze over people who care about you? This saddens me… 😦

  11. Just say a little prayer that there are still people who love him — and that he makes his way back to them. You are a kind and gentle soul, Cindy, you took the time to see him.

  12. There are many reasons people live on the street. I lived on the street. I didn’t drink or do drugs. I was abused, had my child abducted, was living in the us without legal status because I was a fool. When my time in the domestic violence shelter ran out I was sent to the homeless shelter and when my time there ran out I slept on a patch of grass not unlike his because I had nowhere to go, no family and I was still searching for my little girl. You wouldn’t know it now though. 🙂 You never know what that man’s future is, but in the end, it is his. HUGS Cindy for posting this, you are a lady in every sense of the word.

  13. Beautiful post, Cindy. After all this joyful time of feasts and celebration, we are all back to reality. But the point is that for many people there’s no joyful celebration and we too often forget about that.

Leave a Reply

