RESOLVE REVISTED

Talk of joy: there may be things better than beef stew and baked potatoes and home-made bread – there may be.

David Grayson.
We, as a family, have a passionate relationship with good bread. We seek out artesan bakeries and relish new finds. Not for us the supermarket government loaves; we lust for ciabatta, baguettes, pumpernickel and rye.

Strangely, baking bread has never been a focus in my kitchen and I’ve resolved to change this in the new year. I started my efforts with a super beer bread from Andy Fenner’s recipe and was extremely proud of the praises from my husband:

http://aficionado.co.za/jamiewho/2010/11/08/homemade-beer-bread/

As if to endorse my resolve, I opened the new Taste magazine this morning to Mariana Esterhuizen’s page (always my first read in the magazine) and found a recipe for corn bread in a skillet. Easy and perfect for the salad I was planning for lunch.

Now to get busy with the real stuff.

I’m off to get some yeast.

 

CORN BREAD IN A SKILLET

(Mariana is a chef who owns a delicatessen and bistro in the quaint little village of Stanford in the Western Cape.)

Butter, for greasing

1 cup maize meal or polenta

1 cup cake flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 cup sweet corn kernels

½ cup chopped onion

½ cup diced green pepper

4 tablespoons chopped coriander

3 jumbo-sized free-range eggs

1 cup yoghurt or buttermilk

3 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 180C. Grease a 26cm cast iron skillet (with an ovenproof handle) very well with butter. Sift the maize meal, cake flour, baking powder and salt into a mixing bowl. Add the vegetables and coriander and stir into the dry ingredients. Beat the eggs lightly in a jug, then stir in the buttermilk and olive oil. Pour into mixing bowl and stir until combined.

Pour into the skillet and bake for 35 to 40 minutes (mine took 50 minutes) or until top is browned.

36 thoughts on “RESOLVE REVISTED

  1. Cin ~ Have you ever made Spinach Cornbread?

    Fairly close to this recipe but with chpped Spinach stirred through the batter before baking. It’s very pretty and delicious.

  2. Oh…this is the real corn bread….I’ve been promising myself for three years now that I would start baking bread…I have all the fancy equipment and have yet to bake more than two loaves. 😦 okay so this year I will do it…I will follow your lead. 😉

  3. “I opened the new Taste magazine this morning to Mariana Esterhuizen’s page (always my first read in the magazine)”

    This sentence has me intrigued….. I read magazines from the front cover to the back. What page does Ms. Esterhuizen’s writing usually appear on?

    Great looking corn bread btw

  4. Aaah, the topic of bread! Another thing that is rather scarce to find a good one of around here. The wheat seems to be ground SO fine that the break is “airy” – almosts melt the moment it comes into contact with anything “wet”, e.g. soup. The mush doesn’t make music in my mouth but rather makes my stomach turn. I am either yet to find a good break that works for me, or try my hand at baking some myself…

    Have to add: the bread around here doesn’t seem to grow mold. It almost makes it hard to recognize when the bread is not edible anymore. Certainly it can’t last forever… or is it the world of processed foods that we live in. Somehow, throwing away bread that is greenish with mold makes for fewer feelings of guilt… as I hate wasting food and often remember what it was like when every meal was an answered prayer. I almost want to say that I never WANT to forget and become carelessly wasteful.

  5. Good night, my friend.
    I came here to absorb the knowledge that you provide on this blog. I’m so glad to find this blog and read interesting articles.
    Nice to visit here. Next time I will come back.

    My greetings.
    Good luck!

  6. YUM!!! Looks delish as does everything on this here blog of yours. I just did a quick catch up. I hate when everyday life is so chaotic that I cannot get to do blogging. I have the recipe, looked at it just the other day. So now I will try my hand at it too. I see breadmaking in my immediate future…love you and I hope 2011 brings you awesome things Cindy. xx

Leave a Reply

