ABUNDANCE, GRATITUDE

And so it’s all done for another year.

There were eight of us; more than enough food. Each little party went away with ample tin foiled-wrapped parcels, which means nobody has to cook today and all can make forays to the fridge as and when they’re hungry.

Lunch was a leisurely affair, with swimming between courses. Bonhomie prevailed and everyone was happy.

I am grateful.

Prawn salad with mandarin oranges and jalepino peppers (before being tossed with guacamole).

Liz’s piedmont roasted peppers with haloumi and anchovies. (From the Delia Smith recipe).

My turducken with plum glaze. An enormous success after all the anxiety during the cooking process.

My pineapple and ginger infused gamon roast.

Paul’s meat stuffing with chourizo (from the Gordon Ramsay recipe).

After the salad course, I could only manage a small plate of mains, and skipped out the gravyΒ  and mash bit.

And then … Eton Mess, lemon meringue tartlets, strawberry tartlets and Liz’s chocolate fruit cake (from the Nigella recipe).

Gosh, now that I have all of that out of the way, I feel a snack-atack coming on!

55 thoughts on “ABUNDANCE, GRATITUDE

  1. *sob* that’s what my gammon was supposed to have looked like! Isn’t the infusion of ginger a wonderful addition to the gammon?
    It all looks heavenly, Cindy, and I’m sure your guests all tucked into their parcels when they got home πŸ™‚

  2. Looks great, sounds great, I’m sure it all tasted great. I think gammon is best in the days after Christmas, sliced onto bread.

  3. Ohhhhhh, the stuffing! It’s enough to make me brave Gordon Ramsay. Glad the dinner turned out so well and everyone was happy, Cindy πŸ™‚

    Now for leftovers day, and a rest πŸ™‚

  4. A meal fit for a king, Cin! I wouldn’t have mind a doggy-bag myself, especially the lemon meringue tartlets and meat stuffing and roast potatoes of course! LOVE roast potatoes! πŸ™‚

  5. Marvellous!

    I had lunch cooked for me yesterday… what a relief! This pm a large beef joint in the oven, for a late meal… won’t be ready until 8:45 pm, letting the boys finish Monopoly!

    Happy Christmas

  6. You just had to show a pic of those meringues, didn’t you?! I’m DROOLING! I’ve never tried my hand at turducken, but the hubby did once. It was wonderful, but too much work for me to attempt.

  7. Oh.My.Word. THAT is not Christmas lunch…no ways! Uh-uh…THAT is a Christmas FEAST! Everything looks so yummy. Makes me think that when I do eventually get to visit you, I mustn’t eat for a week before arriving πŸ˜‰ Your table also looked lovely. Sounds like your Christmas was a great one, am so happy for you xxx

  8. Oh my word – my mouth is totally watering at these pics!! Your food looks amazing. And, excuse me…..what is this about “…swimming between courses” ? Lol. So happy that your day went well for you xx

  9. Pingback: TANDY’S ‘COME DINE WITH ME CHALLENGE’ « The only Cin

  10. Pingback: They Say It’s Cin’s Birthday! « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

