CHOCOLATE, RED KNEES AND ROSES

The French faculty of medicine officially approved its (chocolate’s) use in 1661. The magistrate and gastronome, Brillat-Savarin (1755 – 1826) summed up in Physiologie du Gout: “Chocolate, when carefully prepared, is a wholesome and agreeable form of food … is very suitable for persons of great mental exertion, preachers, lawyers, and above all travelers … it agrees with the feeblest stomachs, has proved beneficial in cases of chronic illness and remains the last resource in the diseases of the pylorus.”

This passage comes from that tome to chocolate, written by Christine France and Christine McFadden, The Complete Book of Chocolate and 200 Chocolate Recipes. I’ve had the book for more than a year; it was set aside for reading and completely forgotten about. Until yesterday.

Alone for an entire morning, I indulged in guiltless sloth: I took Justin Bonello’s new book ‘Cooked’ up to the swimming pool and lazed about on a lounger, reading in between swims. Time flew, under the cloudy skies, and before I knew it I had a severe case of Red Knees.

 

Completely my own silly fault, I nonetheless wallowed in self pity and took myself, with a bar of chocolate, and the aforementioned Chocolate book, to bed for the afternoon. I’m in love with the book, head over heels really. If you have a fondness for cocoa in any form I can recommend that you buy this book immediately.

 

My Red Knees are still sore, but there’s a pot of hot choc simmering on my stove and a batch of yumminess for our breakfast. Those things we call flap jacks, the English call crumpets, and the Americans know as pancakes.

A rose by any other name, really …

51 thoughts on “CHOCOLATE, RED KNEES AND ROSES

  1. Ouch ouch and double ouch! Dem aren’t knees – dem are headlights! We can use you on the coast here in our lighthouse – would save a fortune on bulbs. Ouch again!

  2. I think you should take another afternoon in bed with your book and some more chocolate, yes, that will definitely do the trick on helping those eina knees. An extra flap jack wouldn’t hurt either.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Just back home after a fine dinner at a friends home…love being spoiled with fine food and wine…and now off to bed…have a great morning and breakfast looks lovely. 🙂

  4. Chocolate and a cook book in bed is very agreeable to me! Sorry about the red knees – when I read the subject I thought it might me carpet burn! LOL, have a great day:)

  5. Owwwie! But we’ll put up with anything when it comes to chocolate!

    In Canada, we call those little flap jacks all three of those names. Ye gads, no wonder we can appear vague vis a vis our national identity!

  6. It’s easy to convince ourselves on cloudy days that we don’t need sunscreen on our knees. We do.

    Hope the pain dissipates before the next sunny day. 🙂

    My Scottish aunt made crumpets. My dad made pancakes/ flapjacks/ griddle cakes. They seem a bit different to me ~ maybe because of the toppings served with them.

    We always had our pancakes in the morning with syrup and our crumpets at tea with orange marmalade.

  7. And did you do all this with your left hand? :-D! (Still waiting, Cin – did you chicken out? I’ll forgive you if you did – esp. after your sweet encouragement to me yesterday!

    Chocolate – mmmmmm – and I see you like Lindt, too! I love the high cacao content – 85% is terrific, but they have a 60% with chili flavoring, that I would crawl on my hand (!) and knees for! If you’ve had it, you know, if not, it might sound weird, but it is fantastic!!! And very Mexican or South American.

    Great post, and one more thing: SUNSCREEN!!!!

  8. You call those flapjacks!? Crikey!

    Flapjacks are oatmeal and treacle and stuff like that in a baked bar, over here.

    Crumpet and pikelets are the same thing here, but it depends which part of the UK you are from and they are flat bottomed bubbly topped things which require toasting before being slathered in butter, plus or minus some sort of jam, marmalade or marmite.

    And pancakes are thin and cover the whole of the bottom of the pan, require tossing and are eaten sprinkled with lemon juice and sugar and rolled up in a tube shape, unless you’re talking Sctch pancakes, of course which are made with a thicker batter and are smaller.

    Clear as mud?

    I love all these anomalies in food naming. Don’t start on the chicory and endive debate….

  9. Those red knees must’ve felt better the minute you touched the chocolate bar.. no? 😉
    You might be in live with the book… but I am sooooooooooo in love with the subject matter of the book too… (giggles)

Leave a Reply

