NANCY AND PAULA’S CHALLENGES

Challenge #1 / Nancy Hatch: Write a Love Note (max 200 words) in any format, using at least five of the following nouns: Seven-11, scurvy, turnpike, flannel, Kilimanjaro, blizzard, applesauce, Tang, water buffalo, and hand-sanitizer.

http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/12/12/the-blizzard-of-two-thousand-ten/

 

 

I waited for him at the turnpike in a blizzard. Five years he’d been gone, I had no idea what to expect. He’d written sporadically; brief notes from Kilimanjaro, stories about eating water buffalo brought up from the camp below by the sherpas, essential food to ward off the scurvy. (Oh dear, I only have 46 words and I’m floundering!)

 

Challenge #2 / Paula Calhoun: Spend the day without the use of my right hand.

http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/what-can-i-say/

 

 

Just trying to remember not to use it didn’t work, I instinctively used it, so I had to strap it to my body.

 

It is a bad day to do this challenge; I have a 9am deadline and mucked about on yesterday, so I had to get to work early; up at 5am and typing with just my left hand. Just about impossible, I spent more time backspacing to correct typos than actually typing.  (This post, thus far, has taken me the most part of an hour!)

 

Time for breakfast:

My usual morning sandwich is an elaborate affair; I am partial to that multi-layered feast I think of as a two-hander, a perfectly balanced and finely orchestrated meal:

Two slices of crusty bread (couldn’t slice it, couldn’t even untie the knot in the loaf’s plastic bag)

An unguent to keep the sarmie together; cream cheese, hummus or mayo (couldn’t open the jars)

Protein: some shaved ham or chicken (couldn’t shave my legs, never mind a ham)

Moisture and crunch: sliced tomato, sliced onion and shredded lettuce (hmphfff!)

 

Quite miserable by now, I stood and stared at my grocery shelves for something to prepare and eat with my left hand. The Weetbix box gave me a leery smirk. I knocked over the milk and made a big mess trying to wring out a wet cloth to clean it up.

 

It’s now 7.45am.

My feeling of helplessness and misery can best be described as abject.

I see that I have used couldn’t frequently in this post.

 

It’s going to be a hell of a long day… I’m not sure that I can do it.

Hats off to you Paula, you’ve got balls, Girlfriend.

 I have no idea why this is in italics and can’t figure out how to fix it …

 

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “NANCY AND PAULA’S CHALLENGES

  1. I saw my email notification just before we left the house this morning, and had a quick skim through with hubby tooting the car horn at me! Sitting at Corner Cafe for breakfast, I tried drinking my latte using my left hand but their latte’s are served in a glass and trying to wrap part of the serviette around the glass as protection against the heat of the coffee was seriously challenging.
    I conceded defeat when my breakfast arrived.

  2. Cindy as part of my training , we were told by our professors to go an entire day without communicating in order to understand fully the importance of communication…that meant no verbal or written communication…was the longest day I can remember….especially since I was at university and my friends didn’t quite understand why I wasn’t responding to their questions…sounds like its going to be an eye opening day.

  3. This is reminding me of my short-lived attack of SIS last year, when I had to keep my arm glued to my side like a chicken wing or suffer the consequences.

    A great reminder to focus on ALL the blessings in our lives ~ including the ability to maneuver a corkscrew for much needed spiritual therapy.

    And kudos to Paula for staying so chipper and upbeat in the face of such a painful challenge.

  4. Maybe this will help on the “italics” challenge 😉 highlight script with the mouse and click on the “I” icon where you would find the “bold” and “underline” button too 🙂 Otherwise, try “Control” + B = bold, “Control” + I = italic and “Control” + U = underline. I usually use my left hand for these anyway 🙂 Have fun with your challenge – maybe it’ll give you some fun experiences to blog about tomorrow 🙂 Can’t wait to read all about it!

  5. I wouldn’t attempt the 2nd challenge either, particularly not on a day when I had work to do… Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof, as my mother would say (a quote from the bible?). The 1st sounds intriguing, if hard.

  6. I still can’t believe I missed this post! Must have a screw loose somewhere – (see my Senior Moments post!). You were very brave to take on this challenge! Much braver than I, because you elected to give it a try – something I doubt I ever would, because I, like you, depend so much on being able to use BOTH hands. I’m doing it, only because I HAVE to! And kicking and screaming at that!

    M biggest problem right now is not trying to use my right hand! It is SO instinctive – as you found – that it is almost impossible NOT to! The problem really amps up when i try, because it hurts like hell to move my arm around in such as way as to cause any wrist movement. My right arms works reasonably well from the elbow up, so I am able to steady and hold things under that arm. It comes in handy when trying to open jars! I also hold things between my knees. Good exercise, and it’s great for being able to please the Hubs (can’t believe I wrote that! :-D) I tried using a corkscrew that way – didn’t work, because I couldn’t get enough leverage to pull thhe cork out, once I got the corkscrew in (took me about 15 minutes!). One of our sons kept wanting to help me, but I said, “I have to learn how to do these things by myself!” After all – who knows when I may be all alone and in desperate need of a bottle of corked wine! I did give up eventually – people were getting thirsty for the Shiraz!

    Kudos to you for giving it a try! I do hope that you decided not to wear a bra that day1 Still my biggest challenge. I end up doing it myself, but I have to start getting dressed 15-20 minutes earlier than usual, because that’s how long it takes me to get it hooked! (Front or back!) My handwriting is getting better, ass long as I print. Longhand still looks pretty bad – my signature looks like a preschooler’s first try at it!

    Life goes on, and I know that eventually will get a ot better at it. After all, I spent 59 years being a righty – a much less time than that attempting to be a lefty.

    Cheers, and thanks for giving it a try! Your encouragement means a great deal! XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

