A MEAT FREE MEAL FOR A FROG FRIEND

A gift from a vegetarian donor was the perfect reminder to do the week’s Meat Free Meal.

Pipe Rigate is a pasta that is best described as voluptuous; fat and curvy, the large mouth at one end and the flattened one at the other end make it perfect for a robust sauce to nestle in the snail-like shell. I thought of all the bounty of a summer garden, thrown together in a pot and left to simmer into a peasanty sauce for these who’s-your-mama noodles.

Sundried tomatoes are the perfect alternative to meat; beefy and chewy, I dreamed of them in a heady, psychedelic party with all the other veg in my fridge. Only thing was, O Bunn has never taken to brinjals (eggplant, America!) and – of late – won’t eat mushrooms. No problem, these two, sautéed, could make a nice warm side-salad for the pasta.

 

Diced onions and carrots, those precious little tomato raisins, garlic, ginger, chilli, coriander; I had a pot of luscious and my child was almost too hungry to dive in before allowing me to take a picture.

 

Old Spouse was not entertaining any ideas of side salads and simply heaped the eggplant-shroom mixture on top of his pasta.

 

Me? I lifted my chilli-clad wrist in a toast to Lyndatjie and proceeded to enjoy every mouthful. As Old Spouse reached for the parmesan, I chided him. No-no! Our guest of honour may not be here in the flesh, but she doesn’t eat cheese …

 

Related post:

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/12/08/on-blogging-generosity-and-chillis/

 

37 thoughts on “A MEAT FREE MEAL FOR A FROG FRIEND

  1. There’s something wrong with the file transfer of my pc. I placed my bowl beneath my screen in anticipation of a portion being transferred, but alas, nothing happened 😦

  2. Brilliant!!!!!!! I am now so hungry that I’m emailing this whole post to a friend to see if he can cook it for me. I go nuts for Brinjals and Mushrooms – so that side dish is going to find its way into the pasta for sure (Sorry Bunn).
    Thank you so much for this – it looks devine and as usual – I am extremely sorry that I do not live close enough to you where I can just gatecrash every breakfast, lunch and supper in your home… 😦

    (PS: I eat cheese – but only if it doesn’t contain any animal rennet and comes from a free range type farm – in other words – no animal must be harmed or killed during the making of the cheese. Actually – I’ve been meaning to do a post about vegetarians and “veggie cheese” that just aren’t veggie cheese….. Oh gosh – now you’ve set me off.)

    • Best I get a garden goat then … it will be treated very well in this house. Proof: there was a storm last night and my child had under her duvet with her two large dogs, a hamster and a dwarf rabbit. Interesting sheets have just gone into the washing machine.

    • Please do the post, Lyndatjie. Missmadam uses cheese for her protein and has to google what she is unable to eat because of the animal rennet.
      She doesn’t even eat jelly sweets and marshmallows because of the animal gelatine in them.

    • We first tried the sachets of s-d tomatoes in Ina Paarmans vinaigrettes, they got a thumbs down. But Woolies have just launced packets of teeny tomato ‘raisins’ that – when rehydrated in hot water – are sublime. Lots of oregano went into my sauce.

  3. Hey cin … do not change anything about your blog … I am reminded how comforting it is to visit you and all the amazing info you share … this is one of
    my cozy places – please do not “rearrange the furniture” xo iz

  4. I’ve never seen that type of past, but I love the who’s-your-mama noodles description! And wow, does it look scrumptious,mymouth is watering! I would have been happy to eat O Bunn’s shrooms for her! Thanks for explaining what brinjals are, never heard that term…see, I’ve learned a couple of things over here today.

Leave a Reply

