FISHCAKES FOR MANDY

For many years my husband and I kept separate homes; I lived in Cape Town and he lived in Johannesburg.  He would commute between the two cities, flying down on Thursday and returning on Monday morning. The set-up worked well for us, a mutual politness prevailed, something that often falls by the wayside in the familiarity of a life spent constantly together. My heart would skip a little beat when I heard his key in the door on Thursday nights and there was always that sweet sorrow of parting on Monday mornings, that feeling that Mister Shakespeare described so well.

But things couldn’t carry on like that forever; it became too expensive to keep both homes, and our child was growing up and proving a handful for me on my own. Dad got only the good stuff; the weekend stuff: the beach, barbeques, movies and fun.  I was left the grim weekday tasks of getting her to do her homework and suchlike.  The final decider was when Old Spouse had a heart-attack scare and became disorientated; he didn’t know which airport he was at.

I sold my house and had all the contents shipped up to Joburg, we spent the last few days in a guest house and my good friends Rose and Brian invited us over for a farewell supper.  The special treat was Brian’s mom’s salmon fishcakes.

I’ve adapted Mrs Ashley’s fishcakes over the years, and often serve a Thai-style version as a starter. Mandy, a South African living on the island of Mauritius, who writes a lovely food blog, has asked me for the recipe for these divine fishcakes:

1 tin Alaskan or Norwegian salmon

1 large egg

2 slices brown bread, crusts removed

½ cup chopped parsley

½ cup chopped coriander

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 finely chopped chilli

Juice of 1 lime

1 teaspoon crushed ginger

Drain fish and reserve liquid. Remove skin and bones from fish. Soak bread in liquid and squeeze out excess before adding the bread to the fish.

Add all other ingredients and fold together.

Fry in hot olive oil until goldy-brown on both sides. I do them in tablespoon size, for small fishcakes, but have made larger ones to serve as fish burgers too.

44 thoughts on “FISHCAKES FOR MANDY

  1. Cindy, I got very excited when I saw your title “Fishcakes for Mandy”. Thank you so much and thank you for the lovely mention, I feel very honoured. I am looking forward to making these tomorrow evening and will report back first thing Friday morning.
    🙂 Mandy

      • Okay, patience has never been one of my strongest virtues so last nights supper was pushed aside to make your fishcakes and they were fabulous! Due to my impatience, I never had any ginger in the house so made them without. No problem, just have to make them again with. 😉 Cindy, thank you again. I will be doing a post on your fishcakes soon.
        PS. I have leftovers for lunch too – woohoo!

  2. Okay, here we go again…it’s bedtime. I’m drooling as I look at that healthy, wholesome and well presented meal. Sounds really yummy. I ate so much Salmon when I moved to our West Coast that it’s not one of my favs. But as fishcakes with lime and ginger? I’m in!

  3. I haven’t had salmon cakes in years. My mother used to make them often. Your’s sound a bit more appealing…I like the idea of ginger and coriander in them. My Mom’s were fairly simple, so this sounds like a way to refresh an old comfort food.

  4. I love Thai and those fishcakes sound and look enticing… They are now on my list of new (to me) recipes to try.
    I’ve never been in a long-distance relationship, but I think it would suit me very well now…

  5. Do you know the Barefoot Contessa, Ina Garten?

    She likes to cook . . . barefoot. So do you.
    She likes to share her love of cooking with others. So do you.
    She and her husband, Jeffrey, have a “weekend marriage.” So did you.
    She loves to entertain. So do you.
    She used to own a small shop. So did you.

    I love listening to her. I love listening to you. 🙂

  6. Thanks for this post, Cindy, I loved it, your life and thoughts, the delicious fishcakes recipe. It sounds like a friends´reunion that would end around your convivial table eating another of your tasty meals 🙂

  7. I am so happy that you bowed to Mandy’s request for the recipe…these are so now on the agenda for dinner this week…thanks for sharing! 😉

Leave a Reply

