SIDE VIEW’s WEEKEND THEME: RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS

Christmas Eve, 2009

My intention was to do a no-fuss cold buffet and let everyone come and go as they please tomorrow, but I was outvoted by the other four people in the party and they begged for a groaning table of hot food.  I can’t say I mind, it’s not exactly torture for me to spend the day in the kitchen after a week of not cooking at all while Old Spouse and I were home alone and eating salads and sandwiches.

Our menu:

Thai Salmon Fishcakes with Tartar Sauce.

Roasts: Chicken, Stuffed Pork Roll, Minted Lamb.

Roasted Potatoes, Mixed Mediterranean Vegetables, Green Beans with Almonds.

Brown & Wild Rice with Gravy and Pearl Onions.

Assorted Pickles.

Trifle.

Malva Pudding.

The chicken and pork roll are done, the sponge for the trifle is in the oven, the jelly is setting in the fridge and I have just prepared the fishcake recipe.  I am going to iron my favourite white linen tablecloth now and have just been struck by something; I have a six-seater dining table, but there are only five of us. 

There will be an asymmetrical empty space at the table. 

How terribly sad that someone, somewhere, will be spending the day alone.

42 thoughts on “SIDE VIEW’s WEEKEND THEME: RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS

  1. It’s always sad to know there’ll be people on their own over this time, more so as Christmas should be a time for families to be together.

    I actually can’t remember when last I did a hot meal for Christmas; but then we’ve never done the traditional Saffa huge Sunday lunch either 🙂

    • Have decided to make a big batch of sarmies one Christmas Eve this year and take it down to the bergies at the lake. They get a nice dinner on Christmas Day itself at the local church.

  2. That does sound awfully delicious, and I love the Christmasy colours in the pic. Do you know, I’ve never had pickled peppers?
    It really is sad about empty places at table, and the thought of others going hungry. Good idea about the sarnies…

  3. Interestingly enough, the first thing that came to my mind when I read this wonderfully well-done story is the parable in Matthew (22:1-14) of the king’s wedding fest. a very edited part of that scripture is: 8 “Then he said to his servants, ‘The wedding banquet is ready, but those I invited did not ,,, come. 9 So go to the street corners and invite to the banquet anyone you find.’ 10 So the servants went out into the streets and gathered all the people they could find, … and the wedding hall was filled with guests.” Forgive me for leaving out some rather critical parts of this parable, which is quite gruesome in its way, but the part I quoted above is what came to mind. You had (have) an empty chair? Invite someone in! Bet there was (is) someone on your street or neighborhood who would feel as blessed as your own family to partake in such a feast!

    Thanks for this story and the reminder!

  4. What an incredibly decadent menu Cindy, a very special Christmas dinner. Any chance you will share your salmon fish cake recipe?
    It is always sad to think of those alone at this time of year.
    Oh yes, good luck with cooking a whole turkey – something I have also never tried.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

