SIDE VIEW’s WEEKEND THEME: ALTER-EGO

My alter-ego lives in Paris.  She is rich and has a lover who adores her; the man has an arrangement with a florist and a dozen long-stemmed white roses are  delivered at 8am every morning to her all-white apartment.

I’m bored with the story already, I’m really rather happy with this real me, as I stand at my kitchen sink washing the dishes from a truly satisfying kitchen session.

The fragrance of the lambVindaloo I made for Saturday’s supper lingers; I could make it hot as hell, O Bunn was away at a slumber party.

 

It’s been a calm, quiet Sunday. I made magic with mushrooms for my second entry into the Verlaque Braai Challenge. Using their Porcini Mushroom Balsamic Reduction, my sauce may just be the best thing I have ever cooked.  Earthy and sweet it is, and then the green peppercorns burst through the creaminess as a delightful surprise. A triumph and I am quite silly with pride.

 

Sautee a punnetful of chopped white mushrooms and one thinly sliced orange pepper in olive oil and butter.  Add herbal salt, thyme and pepper to taste. Spinkle over one tablespoon of flour and sear. Add a glug of Verlaque Porcini Mushroom Balsamic Reduction and stir to release sticky bits from pan. Allow to reduce completely and stir in 125ml cream. Add 1 heaped teaspoon of green peppercorns and set aside.  Reheat for 1 minute in microwave before serving with seared rib eye steaks.  (I marinaded by steaks in black bean sauce, balsamic vinegar and sesame oil.)

My feet are bare; my shirt is grubby with cooking stains and a flatulent dog lies asleep at my feet. Now it’s time to scrub up and take my offering off to the parent’s buffet at my child’s ballet class year-end concert. Quite the polar opposite of that lady in Paris…

 

For more contributions to the weekend theme, go to:

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/

35 thoughts on “SIDE VIEW’s WEEKEND THEME: ALTER-EGO

  1. I cooked Thanksgiving dinner barefoot . . . my favorite way to cook. If I ate lamb . . . that vindaloo looks like it would be a “winner, winner” of a spicey dinner!

  2. Alter ego blogs the order of the day? (we call them baton blogs)

    Lovely cooking account here.
    If I had cooked with bare feet tonight I’d have needed a hot water bottle while we ate (V rare beef, ‘pop over’ Yorkshire puds, cauli cheese and other veg….)

    Minus 5 out there at the mo. And waiting for th snow.

  3. All that talk and visuals of food is making me hungry and it’s still a good couple of hours to dinnertime. I do love the look of the lamb especially… I trust we’ll hear about your daughter’s ballet concert?

  4. You are so much more than the lady in white in Paris. . . thank whatever God you like for that. I’m going to have to try that mushroom recipe — sounds wonderful. Have you ever thought of publishing a cookbook? I’d buy one! Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend. It’s Grey Cup weekend here in Canada. The damned Alouettes just won their second cup — gonna be a lot of tears in Saskatchewan!

  5. hope you do well in the challenge! I have not entered as last time around my cooked figs were upstaged by uncooked figs drizzled with one of their reductions! No mention of the blogger needed me thinks! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

