A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME, EXCEPT PUCE

Pic found on the web.

I’m reviewing McCain’s frozen veg this week.  My first thought when confronted with frozen vegetables is Why?  I have the most glorious fruit and veg store right on my doorstep and can nip across daily and hand-pick what I need.  But, I’m working on supplying Tandy Sinclair with some easy supper recipes for children, for her new book and must bear in mind that a lot of the meals in the book will be prepared by moms who work away from home and need to get their dinners done in a hurry after a busy day.  Hail the convenience of frozen veg!

There’s something very comforting about the combination of chicken, corn and rice. I made a fricassee; sautéed the stuff and reduced with a big glug of wine.  Things were looking fine and I thought a dash of cream just the thing to bring it all together.

Puce.  I had a pot of puce muck.  My Facebook friends tried to help with suggestions of food colouring or dimming the lights and eating by candlelight.  Too late.  The inhabitants of the house had seen the pot.  It looked like the inspiration for a 50s bathroom. 

 

Speaking of which, I kid you not, there is a blog dedicated solely to the cause …

“Seems like a bunch of the rest of the world — well behind our curve — actually dislikes mid-century pink bathrooms. They will regret what they have done.

On the other hand, I believe that to know pink bathrooms is to love them. Pink bathrooms are a wonderful part of our home design heritage.  And, there is no doubt in my mind whatsoever that they are poised for a comeback — starting here, starting now.”

If you really want to know more:

http://savethepinkbathrooms.com/

35 thoughts on “A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME, EXCEPT PUCE

  1. My bathroom back in Houston – the only home I ever owned – was a grayer version of this. At least the [tiled] walls around the tub were. kind of nice actually. I don’t like pink, punk. but graying it down a little can be nice.

  2. My Grandmother’s bathroom was a lovely pink and always smelled of Lux soap. That was in the 60’s, so I guess it had been there a while. When we moved to this house we had avocado in the shower room and mustard in the bathroom. Tasteful, huh?

    Pinkish food always reminds me of Teletubby custard and school.

  3. “Puce” always makes me think of Ryan O’Connor on Kfm in CT. He was running a quiz on his show, and one of the questions involved the word “puce”, which had been written phonetically for him to read (as his producer thought he didn’t know the word). He pronounced it “pie-yoos” and was not allowed to live that one down! He said if it had been written as it’s spelt, he would have pronounced it correctly!
    Happy day! xx

  4. I suppose there are websites and blogs dedicated to anything imaginable!

    What truly mystifies me is that those people really believe in their “causes”.
    and it becomes something that starts dominating every fiber of their beings.

    Imagine “Puce fanatics” … “Pink bathrooms or death” …

    Ah well, to each his own! I amuse myself by doodling with a pencil whilst talking on the phone, needless to say I can’t see those who fight the good fight to conserve the “Pink Bathroom” as any less inferior than what my blog is about … 🙂

  5. this has me smiling on so many levels! Thanks for the ping back. We eat a lot of frozen peas but I have had a packet of frozen corn in my freezer for a LONG time. The guest bathroom in my parents house is pink …. I am sure supper tasted great xxx

  6. My grandma bathroom has the similar color… pink and orange in between.
    I love the combination of chicken, corn and pea, too…my baby just love it 🙂

  7. Oh, yes, we’ve had one or two puce dinners over time. You never forget them.

    Just having my a.m. java before I start cooking for Thanksgiving. I know you don’t celebrate, but I came to wish you all the good things in the spirit of the day. Thankful for you, Cindy, and you wonderful blog with the gift of smile each morning.

    Bet your dinner had good flavor even if weird visually. 😉

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME, EXCEPT PUCE « The only Cin -- Topsy.com

  9. Not much of a frozen veg fan myself. Saw an ad (I think it was for McCaines) ones where they did a thing about “chop, chop, chop, chop, chop” and they had a woman chopping carrots (I think). They used it as a pitch in saving you time, so instead of chopping you could just pour it from a bag and ten minutes later… vuala!! I still prefer to chop, chop, chop, chop thank you 🙂

  10. Accolades for taking on a “frozen veggie” project in the first place. A challenge like that takes courage and creativity coming from a woman who relishes flair, taste and presentation. Thaw on! Puce or no!

  11. Not the most appetizing color, for sure. It does look a bit like that 60’s bathroom. But do NOT blame the veggies . . . they are the only bright bits in a PUCE landscape. 😉

Leave a Reply

