DECONSTRUCTED CROSSNESS AND CANNELLONI

In my fantasy life, my husband should sweep in nightly with brown paper bags containing champers and flowers. He should say things like Darling! That smells delicious before pouring me a glass of bubbly, tucking his napkin into his collar and sitting down to a civilised dinner.

Instead he bursts into the kitchen with a What is it?  I am starving Babe, put it in my mouth; douses the food with a splurt of Worcestershire Sauce before he’s tasted it … and, then, appetite sated, he looks at me and asks Why are you so cross?

The truth of the matter is that I am very seldom cross, but very deep furrows formed on my forehead at an early age, and the Why are you so cross? question has been asked of me be almost everyone I encounter on a daily basis. Which made me cross …

 

Anschone, who looks after my skin at R’nR  MediSpa, texted me a few week back to say that they now have a plastic surgeon on board and I went off to do something I never imagined I would: I had a Botox injection and my furrows have gone away.

My forehead went smooth, lovely, like the smoothest, silky icing on a sacher torte! You may say that my frown has been ‘deconstructed’.

‘Deconstructed’ is the current catch phrase in the food world too.  Lucky that; my attempt at making my own cannelloni tubes from scratch yesterday went pear shaped and the tubes collapsed during cooking.

 

So, when the man burst in asking what it was, I could say, poshly, It is deconstructed meat and spinach cannelloni!

 

He hasn’t asked me – for a long while – why I am cross.  Nobody has.

Then again, nobody has exclaimed that I am looking rather uncross either …

Oh well.

42 thoughts on “DECONSTRUCTED CROSSNESS AND CANNELLONI

  1. Have a wonderful day Cin – am sure that your cannelloni tasted devine though!
    You very brave – I am too poep bang of needles for botox – sigh!

  2. It’s funny how absolutely oblivious I’ve been to all your cosmetic “flaws” . . .

    I never noticed your large nose, your furrowed brows, or your claimed resemblance to Gerard Depardieu (inspired, no doubt, by my comparison of Lulubelle to Nick Nolte).

    I need to open my eyes and be more critical . . . or who know what other flaws I shall miss. 🙂

  3. I wondered what you were talking about. I didn’t notice either. I inherited my mother’s family’s turned down mouth and I have had people ask me the same kind of thing.
    Botox sounds like it is painful and I can’t afford it anyway, so I guess I will go on frowning. Hope my friends understand.

  4. getting rid of the ‘grumpy line’ was the best thing I ever did. I am still scared of the needle. I took almost a year between treatments, but next time I’ll be bang on the 6 months. I love no-one asking why I’m cross when I’m not.

  5. deconstructed crossness – love the sound of that… I have only your posted blog pic to look at, but I don’t believe I’ve ever seen you look cross. I think you look rather uncross, as a matter of fact. 🙂

  6. “They dined on mince, and slices of quince,
    Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
    And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
    They danced by the light of the moon”

  7. I like having a ‘cross’ look. It keeps the family in line as they are never sure what’s up. Hehe.
    Good on you, Cindy. I’m getting a downturned mouth (weird, seeing I smile a lot) so might have to consider a visit to Anschone in the future. 🙂

  8. Himself used to be fond of dousing his food with HP Sauce, now-a-days the only thing he is allowed to smoother with the damned stuff is bacon and eggs! Next thing we know you will be sporting an Angelina pout! *runs*

    • I’m thinking of putting a whole bottle of cayenne pepper in his damn sauce bottle to teach him a lesson!
      Angelina pout? At R1000 a pop, I think not, would rather spend the money at Yuppiechef!

  9. I couldn’t work out what the photo was – at first I thought it was a chest with flabby pecs… hahahaha! (What would Freud say about that?)
    You’re very brave to have botox … and I’m so glad you’re enjoying your new smoothness!
    Happy unfrowning and being uncross!
    Sunshine xx

  10. Our own flaws are seen by ourselves so much more than others see them….

    my son tells me that the occasional darker hair on my upper lip is not the start of a mouse-tache, but simply a lip lash, which is much easier to bear.

Leave a Reply

