5 STARS FOR 5 EGG CABANO CAKE

Sacre bleu! Cinq oeufs?

Yes, I was thinking in French… FIVE eggs???

Whirlpool replaced poor Wall-E (MHDSRIP!) with a new stove on Tuesday.  Not just a replacement of Wall-E, but with the latest model.  Of course there was nothing to do but test the oven and Sonia Cabano suggested the Chocolate Almond Cake recipe included in her latest book.

I seldom post recipes (or follow them to the T while cooking) but this one truly is fail-proof and my Facebook friends are begging, so I have to share.  I improvised with what was in my pantry cupboard on some items, (my daughter doesn’t like dark chocolate, so I used milk bar and I imagine one could do a white chocolate variation too) but the end result is a sure winner.

I’m typing this from memory, so it may not be Sonia’s exactly as it appears in the book:

Ingredients:

300g dark chocolate, chopped into small chunks

250g unsalted butter

5 large eggs

¼ cup (60ml) castor sugar

½ cup (125ml) ground almonds

1 cup (125g) self-raising flour

Icing:½ cup (125ml) cream

125g dark chocolate, chopped into small chunks

  1. Preheat oven to 160C and spray a 23cm springform tin with non-stick spray and line bottom with greaseproof paper.
  2. Gently warm butter and chocolate until melted and until mix smooth. (I used a double-boiler.)
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat sugar and eggs until fluffy and fold in almonds, flour and butter/chocolate mixture.
  4. Pour into baking tin and bake on middle shelf for about 45 minutes until done. (Mine took just under 40 minutes.)
  5. Allow to cool completely before icing.

 To make the icing:

Warm the cream (don’t let it boil), adding the chocolate and stir until melted.  Leave to cool slightly before pouring over cake.

Sonia serves her cake with raspberries coated in cocoa powder, but I was fresh out, so I decorated it with whole toasted almonds.

There is no cake left over …   

29 thoughts on “5 STARS FOR 5 EGG CABANO CAKE

  1. Great to hear poor Wall-E was replaced by the latest model! I’m not surprised there’s no cake left; it looked scrumptious! I think the dark chocolate version would be wonderful with a hint of chillie in it 🙂

  2. Ooooooh I could sink my teeth right into that slice…and another one. I think it has something to do with that glossy chocolate glaze that is giving me the evil eye and beckoning me……thanx for sharing.And thanx Sonia for saying yes!!! MWAH!

  3. Pingback: ALMOST-DISASTER WHITE CHOC CAKE « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

