VERLAQUE BRAAI CHALLENGE

My friend Brenda won a sheep a while back on the Braai4Heritage Facebook page.  The challenge was to do with the best recipe for lamb on the fire, and Brenda answered something to the effect that lamb was flavoursome and needed little more fiddling than a bit of salt and pepper. (I can’t find the original post on the B4H page to link to.)

This I bore in mind when contemplating what to do for my entry for the Verlaque ‘Ver-lekker Braai Food challenge.

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=174004282615477

Lamb is probably my least favourite food and I never cook it indoors.  Our chef friend was coming for lunch and a braai seemed the perfect thing.  I had my butcher cut me some good loin chops, brought them home and stared at them for a while.

We were to have a simple meal; said friend had heard about my potato and anchovy salad during his last visit and had made a special request for it, so I had to take care that the lamb chops would compliment it, but still keep it simple.

My marinade was:

2 tablespoons Verlaque Wild Garlic infused Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 tablespoons Froggit Thyme infused Balsamic Reduction

1 tablespoon crushed garlic

1 tablespoon soya sauce

Ground Rainbow peppers

Ground coriander seeds

No fuss, no fiddling, I soaked the meat overnight.  A short time on the coals, pink in the middle and quite perfect.

 

What the chef-friend said?

“Can I have the recipe for that marinade …”

35 thoughts on “VERLAQUE BRAAI CHALLENGE

  1. Yum – lamb is one of my favourites and I am definately writing that recipe down – it will be good on roast lamb too – too bad I did not have the recipe yesterday!!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention VERLAQUE BRAAI CHALLENGE « The only Cin -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

