ADEGA A-GO-GO

My husband was happy to have both his daughters home on his birthday, a rare occurrence because my step-daughter has shuttled between Canada and South Africa for the past twelve years and was only with us during the Canadian school holidays. We have a democratic household; and he decided we’d celebrate his birthday at a restaurant, so a few restaurants were suggested and we voted.  I was outvoted and we went to Adega.

Adega has just been voted the winner in the Best Portuguese category of Leisure Options’ Best of Joburg 2010, so it follows that my opinion really doesn’t matter a jot.  We frequent their Greenside franchise often and have never had a bad experience.  The terrace buzzes for most of the day; being in an area populated by many media-types and freelancers, it’s the perfect place for a casual business meeting.

We sometimes stop off for just a plate of oysters and a sundowner and then head home for supper.  The oysters are always sea-fresh as they’re flown up from the coast daily.

 

They’ve redone their menu since the last time we were there; it’s now in a clever magazine format, with newsy bits and pieces included.  It’s been streamlined and a lot of the old options are no longer available.

 

My step-daughter and I opted for salads; mine a salmon and cream cheese and hers a peri-peri chicken.  Not mind-blowing, but fresh and tasty enough.  My husband had the Portuguese steak and didn’t rave, but had no complaints.  O Bunn’s grilled calamari was the hit of the evening; a polished plate.

 

I wanted a Sauvignon Blanc and each bottle I ordered sent the waiter back to me with the news that it was out of stock, until I asked which were in stock and he advised that there were only two of the wines listed on the wine list available.  Had our waiter not had such a graceful manner and witty repartee, I may have grumbled, but I chose a Pearlstone from Rhebokskloof that proved rather nice.

A fine place, really; your corner chippy made grown-up with white linen, silver and good glassware. 

Disclaimer: I have not been paid for this review. 

25 thoughts on “ADEGA A-GO-GO

  1. Glad that your husband had all THREE of his girls with him on his birthday. 🙂

    Your exchange with the waiter about the wine reminded me of Monty Python . . . The Cheese Shop.

    “Oh, sorry. Fresh out of Stilton.”
    “Well, what about a nice Roquefort.”
    “Sorry. No.”
    “Cheddar.”
    “Not today.”
    “Edam.”
    “Should be here on Thursday.”
    “Gouda.”
    “Yes. Gouda we have. . . . No, wait, sorry, misspoke.”

  2. This was a heart warming article for me because I know the area that you speak of and have visited it often. It brings back fond memories of home. What I loved most were your pictures of the food. Presentation matters in SA. I love it, because it creates a sense of “we care what we do” and “we’re at least attempting to impress a client”. That is something that I have found to lack sorely in the part of the US that I’ve experienced so far. Packaging and presentation creates the idea that you should be grateful that it is not on the floor or on the table. I miss the “la-di-da” presentations of Jo’burg. Sometimes I’ll decorate my own dinner plate at home just to feel a sense of that “proud to be SA” feeling…

      • I have to just reiterate that this has been for the part of the US that I’ve experienced – somewhat limited. Thus far it has not been any of the big time cities you see on television most of the time. Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised when I do get to explore those. I will say this: lots of grease and over sized portions resulting in careless wastefulness seems to be a signature in this region. For that reason I am learning to create all my favorites that I used to eat as take out back in SA. Some of my personal favorites include the hake and chips from Fish O’ways and chips from Steers. I can’t do sushi, but I love the prawns, avo and crab sticks versions from CTFM 🙂 …oh and KFC drum sticks haha

Leave a Reply

