SHAMELESS I AM

“ … my blog guru, my inspiration, who blogs elsewhere, appears to have sold her blog for a mess of pottage?   More like a good few crates of wine.  

    

  Five out of six posts are now shamelessly plugging various brand names with a good sprinkling of commercial mentions throughout the text.  

    

  Enterprising, I guess. 

    

  One thing does confuse me. If you have a much loved blog with a vast fan base, big enough to enable you to sell it as part of a marketing package, do you not run the risk of eroding that very viewership that makes it viable in the first place? 

    

  Perhaps this too is just a passing phase.”

This I read, written by one of my fave bloggers in the world, and immediately concluded that it was about ME.  Ego?  Perhaps, but it niggles and I have been thinking about it all weekend. 

Yes, my blog is all over the place at the moment; with a lot of product placement, I know.

I’ve been very fortunate of late, with a box of wine arriving by courier at least once a week.  On the face of it, I blog a pack shot of the wine out of gratitude.  But, with a bit of deeper thought, I find that there is a strategy at play.

Here’s the thing: our government is working hard to make above-the-line advertising impossible for liquor brands.  The marketers have become very innovative with experiential campaigns and social networking provides the perfect avenue for this.  It’s exciting and – I believe – history in the making.  And I’m enjoying being part of it.

Soon, very soon, brand managers are going to start employing people to provide content for their own blogs and to manage their social media sites. I’m hanging in there with the hope of being chosen by someone, I want a paid blogging-gig.  Don’t we all?

And, when that happens, I’ll take this blog space back to simply being a space for my journals and poetry.  In the meantime, bear with me if you can.

More photos of the First Sighting picnic to follow … this one was taken by Linda Molyneux …

 

51 thoughts on “SHAMELESS I AM

  1. Do the advertisers pay her? that’s what it’s about these days – blogging for money. I hate the sites that have lots of ads – that keep popping up everywhere. But that’s how one makes the money.

  2. I have a whack load of pictures too but I cannot upload them at home at the moment as my cap is depleted – will post them on FB as soon as I am up and running again.

    You do what you need to do and what you do best – bugger the rest!

  3. Hey, we all need a check. Go for it. Hope it works … We are seeing same marketing trend here.

    Nice photo. Unusual perpective … Thanks to, Linda. Not the result of a nip or two in advance???? Kidding ….

    Hope the picnic was just wondeful, Cindy.

  4. You can post wine info ANY TIME YOU LIKE! You always sprinkle those posts with lots of other entertaining things anyway, and I for one could always use a little wine advice!

    BTW, have you found out anything about Sebeka wine? Let me know when you do! Cheers, Cin! And thanks for sticking with my blog as well. . .

  5. Some of the lessons that I’ve learned over time:

    – Sometimes people’s opinions are formed by something inside themselves that they do not like or do not approve of, and don’t have either the will or the courage to change, so they view those who succeed in their weakness in a negative light.

    – Sometimes people stare themselves so blind at what someone has or what they do, that they loose sight of the gem that that person is underneath everything that they become over time (which is not always something bad – achieving greater things)

    – Sometimes people are just jealous.

    – You can never please everyone.

    Unfortunately I don’t have any fancy quotations, but I do believe that every person should have a dream (where there is no vision, people perish), every person should follow their own heart (in the end you will be held accountable only for yourself), no matter what you achieve, never lose sight of who you are (that is why most people might very well be following your blog right now) and if you are successful at something and your conscious is clean – CELEBRATE!!

    Some will celebrate with you and some will inevitably leave. That is the reality of life. LIVE IT regardless! Laugh, cry, rage sometimes, love, embrace, choose wisely and GO FOR IT!!

  6. “…I want a paid blogging-gig. Don’t we all?
    And, when that happens, I’ll take this blog space back to simply being a space for my journals and poetry. In the meantime, bear with me if you can.”
    Yes Yes Yes!!

  7. Getting paid to blog is, I suppose the dream, but reaching someone is vastly more important.

    However, yours makes me intensely hungry above all else. I always leave your blog wanting the food I see and, lately, a nice glass of wine.

    I could use a break from Gin.

  8. Cindy,
    I agree with what you are doing. I like your writing style, humor and good photos with each post. And your food inspires me to cook new stuff for my man!

    I am, in a tiny way, doing the same. I need to market myself in a busy world full of malls and chain stores, offering hand made stuff. In order to get feet to my blog, I add a tutorial every now and then. I market my blog on glass related forums, and on FB. For me it is a survival thing. I work 7 days a week, and often run from the shop to a nursing (night)shift. but I work!

Leave a Reply

