SOCIAL MEDIA, SHIRAZ AND CRANBERRIES

“We’re still in the process of picking ourselves up off the floor after witnessing firsthand the fact that a 16-year-old YouTuber can deliver us 3 times the traffic in a couple of days that some excellent traditional media coverage has over 5 months.”

Michael Fox, founder of Shoes of Prey

 

Yesterday I witnessed a perfect example of the power of social media.  For any marketer who doubts the efficacy of digital marketing, the Robertson Winery quest to get their Facebook page to reach 3000 members by the end of the day is a textbook lesson.  The brand not only achieved their goal, they provided a platform for engagement: people had a few hours of fun – across the globe.  Very interesting for a brand that already owns the loyalty of a chunk of their target market; both those who belong in the middle ‘relaxation seeker’ class of wine drinker, and the higher end drinker with ‘sense of knowing’ wine consumption habits; close to being connoisseurs.

“Networking is not about hunting. It is about farming. It’s about cultivating relationships.

Dr. Ivan Misner, NY bestselling author & founder of BNI

 

And so, naturally, with a feeling of bonhomie from all the fun, I wanted to continue playing with Robertson.  I had a packet of cranberries; none of the website recipes appealed, so I fiddled about with bits and pieces.  An onion, some ginger, the cranberries … a splash of brandy to reduce the sticky bits … two glasses of Shiraz, a couple of cloves and left to simmer into a heavenly gloop … all this in the pan I’d used to fry my butterflied chicken fillets.  Meanwhile, in the oven I had butternut discs baking with cinnamon.

You know when a meal that was supposed to be ‘functional’ just comes together and becomes this happy plate-party?

 

Some days are diamonds.

36 thoughts on “SOCIAL MEDIA, SHIRAZ AND CRANBERRIES

  1. That plate looks almost sinfully beyond “functional” – “happy plate-party” indeed! 2 glasses of Shiraz and a splash of brandy? You tempt me to start cooking more adventurously. 🙂

  2. Cindy, good insight on marketing using Internet. Appreciate it. Tucking it in my back pocket. Not sure why!! 🙂 Feel like it may come in handy some day.

    Recipe looks fabulous. Thanks!

    I finally am getting caught up on “approvals” on my site. Thank you for your visits and kind comments.

  3. I cannot cook very well… sure can eat a lot though. lol Looks delicious. Also, I’m fascinated by social media and what can be accomplished through using it.

  4. That quote from Dr Misner? That’s why I come back to this site every day. You are a master at cultivating relationships, Cindy. I have this feeling there must be long queues to get to your dinner parties, and not just because of the excellent food.

    You are the perfect cyberhost;-) Thanks for every day.

  5. Sorry I can’t join you in the wine – I can’t drink with my medications – but the chicken over butternut looks AMAZING.

    And you thought I was an Englishman in New York? Interesting – it is not every day I am confused with Quentin Crisp…

Leave a Reply

