MFM: COME ON, BE A GOOD EGG

“We are all looking for a way to make a contribution to the preservation of our planet. Having a Meat Free Monday is a great way to do your bit, while eating in a kinder and more conscious way. I am not a vegetarian, but when I heard about ‘Meat Free Mondays,’ I was intrigued. I had never thought about the environmental impact of raising livestock” – Gwyneth Paltrow

“Just see how easy it will be not to eat meat for one day a week. Just think how the world will benefit from fewer trees being cut to make way for grazing animals. Just imaging how many lives, both animal and human you will help to save” – Joanna Lumley

“I love eating meat, but I love our planet even more, so I will join this campaign and stop eating meat at least one day a week” – Sir Richard Branson

“I think many of us feel helpless in the face of environmental challenges, and it can be hard to know how to sort through the advice about what we can do to make a meaningful contribution to a cleaner, more sustainable, healthier world. Having one designated meat free day a week is actually a meaningful change that everyone can make” – Paul McCartney

I’d been pondering supper to match with a bottle of Ataraxia; to my shame I dreamed of having a young warthog, or a loin of Springbok to roast.  Before going to my larder to check the available options, I had a quick peek at my email inbox and saw the above quotations in the weekly Meat Free Mondays newsletter.

Having mourned the waste of asparagus in Sunday’s lunch, I was keen for their fresh taste and made a simple warm salad of asparagus, sautéed mushrooms and poached eggs; we devoured this on whole-wheat toast.

Everyone knows that wine and asparagus aren’t good bedfellows.  This was no problem at all; we had apple juice with our meal and I took the wine upstairs afterwards.  It was just the thing to enjoy while watching a thunderstorm build.

Related post:

http://mangetoutetc.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/asparagus/

50 thoughts on “MFM: COME ON, BE A GOOD EGG

  1. Great title!

    Your asparagus looks much “healthier” than in your last post. 🙂

    I love watching the approach of thunderstorms . . . especially while imbibing spirits.

  2. Good healthy vegetarian meal and a confession from our Cin on comment #10. Hope you didn’t pick that guy on the label as your designated angel when you took the wine upstairs.

  3. This is easy for me, as I have at least one (usually more) meat-free days in the week… I won’t swear to be good on Mondays though…

    Love the look of that asparagus, well the whole plate.

  4. All good quotes. I’ve found lately that I have a lot more meatless days than a Monday, although I’m not methodical about it. Maybe I will be! I like Gwyneth Paltrow’s comment. I’m definitely not a vegetarian, as I really enjoy good, humanely-raised and organically raised meat, but I have also found that it can be quite expensive, and organic vegetables, which I have anyway, are expensive enough without adding the meat.

    I enjoy discovering veggie combinations that create good proteins, and I always marvel at how the poorer cultures (Mexican and Indian) hit upon that concept without knowing scientifically knowing how healthy it is! Mixing rice with legumes is a great example!

    Thanks for the post – didn’t know about MFMs!

  5. Your poached eggs reminded me of a meal my mother prepared when her budget was a bit short… She would serve them with a curry (mild) sauce and rice. It tasted so good ! Your own tasty meal is the kind of food I love.

  6. Clever title. Appreciate and support the ideal. Despite lusting for meat sometimes and posting recipes that include it, we eat mostly veggie these days and often vegan.

    I don’t know about there, but what keeps meat consumption high in the U.S. is federal subsidies to those businesses. Eating vegetables and fruits actually and unbelievably is more expensive than a meat-based shopping. They’re not subsidized. Such a shame. One hopes and works for change.

    Dinner looks wonderful. 🙂

  7. Pingback: LUNCH IS SERVED : MEATLESS MONDAY « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

