CHANTELLE’S RED SHOES

Yesterday is history.  Tomorrow is a mystery.  And today?  Today is a gift.  That’s why we call it the present.  Babatunde Olatunji

I’m going to the Post Office.” So said my Facebook status update.

Mundane? Perhaps, but it was a covert message from me to a dear friend; she had sent me something via the Post Office and we were both excited that I should receive it.

A comment came in from an observer:

Gosh you lead a full life, what’s next………”

Funny? Perhaps, but – mundane as trips to the Post Office to retrieve gifts may be – I do lead a full life.  I am blessed.  What’s next? Oh, just another little slip from the Post Office, another parcel to collect, a trip to a new coffee shop to do a review, a trip to a lifestyle centre to do a product sampling and then the tedious business of an outing to a wine exhibition with another friend.

Go ahead, call me boring; I love my life.

Thank you, Chantelle, you made my week…

52 thoughts on “CHANTELLE’S RED SHOES

  1. Never apologize for loving your life – you work hard at making it good and happy – I know that!!
    Those are uber tres Cindyrella!!!

  2. she wore red shoes by the post office
    as the rain splashed the nickle
    spilled like chablis along the midway
    theres a little bluejay
    in a red dress, on a sad night

  3. Your observers’ comment is clearly an expression of deep jealously – we’d all love to lead such “mundane” lives as yours.

    Mailed you another tedious option to add to your boring life a little while ago…

    I wonder where Dorothy would have landed up if she’d been wearing those shoes in Oz? Definitely not Kansas I’m sure.

    • I think it was meant to be humorous.

      I received your invitation, thank you – just my kind of tedium – see you there.

      Dorothy may have found herself in A Taxi to Soweto 🙂

  4. I avoid post offices whenever I can – but then, no one sends me gifts like that either. Would be worth the long waits. Have always loved that quote. There are people who think my life must be incredibly boring… if only they knew!

  5. My first impression of the person’s comment on what you were going to do….was “and you’re hanging out on line commenting on other people’s lives…and you think they’re boring”…but that’s just me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

